mintinstall won't load from menu [SOLVED]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

mintinstall won't load from menu [SOLVED]

Post by cecilieaux » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:49 pm

Ever since I forcibly rebooted my laptop from frozen screens it has been acting strange. One of the problems remains that is that the Software Manager (mintinstall) won't load from the menu. (I can get it to work from the command line in a Terminal, so I know it's there and it works.)

Solutions anyone?
Last edited by cecilieaux on Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:47 am, edited 3 times in total.
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

Marziano
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by Marziano » Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:53 pm

Just guessing, but might solve:
sudo apt install --reinstall mintinstall
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." -Marx...
Groucho { Marx

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by cecilieaux » Sat Feb 24, 2018 5:14 pm

Marziano wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 4:53 pm
Just guessing, but might solve:
sudo apt install --reinstall mintinstall
One would think so, but ... nothing. I still click on the icon, get the gui password prompt, then nothing.

But from the terminal it works:

Code: Select all

$ mintinstall
Detected system architecture: 'x86_64' (using 'x86_64')
load_cache took 601.046 ms
add_categories took 3.615 ms
build_matched_packages took 0.152 ms
add_packages took 1626.049 ms
process_matching_packages took 1.394 ms
add_reviews took 207.386 ms
Downloading new reviews
__init__ took 2782.365 ms
update_reviews took 450.131 ms
add_flatpaks took 4309.074 ms
show_search_results took 1086.155 ms
show_search_results took 270.937 ms
show_search_results took 86.620 ms
show_package took 276.286 ms
http://community.linuxmint.com/img/screenshots/mintinstall.png
Synced flathub
sync_flatpaks_into_appstream took 15570.951 ms
Killed
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by cecilieaux » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:20 am

[
Last edited by cecilieaux on Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

Marziano
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by Marziano » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:26 am

Wow, that's wonderful news, congrats!
:D
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." -Marx...
Groucho { Marx

Marziano
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by Marziano » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:32 am

cecilieaux wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:20 am
Have no idea why. Maybe one needs to reboot Mint several times?
The reboots might have done the trick. They are also recommended after each one of those higher level updates which should be applied one-by-one.
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." -Marx...
Groucho { Marx

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by cecilieaux » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:33 am

Marziano wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:26 am
Wow, that's wonderful news, congrats!
:D
I'd mark it "solved" if I knew what caused it to work.
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

Marziano
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by Marziano » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:36 am

Sure, wait for further inputs. It is good to know if the problem arises another time. But let's hope it doesn't.
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." -Marx...
Groucho { Marx

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by cecilieaux » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:29 pm

I claimed victory too early. It was on the desktop that it worked.
On the laptop, where the problem was it's still not fixed. Sigh!
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

Marziano
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1675
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by Marziano » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:33 pm

Can you still run it from a terminal by typing:

Code: Select all

mintinstall
?

Edit: by the way, what is your DE?
"Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." -Marx...
Groucho { Marx

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by cecilieaux » Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:18 am

Marziano wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:33 pm
Can you still run it from a terminal by typing:

Code: Select all

mintinstall
?

Edit: by the way, what is your DE?
I tried that. No dice. I'm using Cinnamon.
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by cecilieaux » Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:45 pm

THIS POST WAS A MISTAKE, STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu

Post by cecilieaux » Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:46 am

cecilieaux wrote:
Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:45 pm
THIS POST WAS A MISTAKE, STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM
Solved it! For some reason, the menu entry had the command

Code: Select all

gksu mintinstall
Got rid of the "gksu" and it worked. How gksu got there, I will never know!
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

User avatar
all41
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4375
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu [SOLVED]

Post by all41 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:03 am

gksu mintinstall is used by Mint 17.x
Proud to be a supporter and monthly contributor to Mint.

cecilieaux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 475
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 9:43 am
Location: Washington, D.C.

Re: mintinstall won't load from menu [SOLVED]

Post by cecilieaux » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:06 am

all41 wrote:
Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:03 am
gksu mintinstall is used by Mint 17.x
That explains it. This was my laptop and I did the lazy thing and upgraded without a clean install.
Every time I think I'm past newbiedom something like this happens.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia 64-bit

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”