Adding repositories

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
jlbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:02 pm

Adding repositories

Postby jlbr » Sat May 30, 2009 11:25 am

Hello,
While I am not completely new to linux since I used Ubuntu for about a year, I am new to Mint, and one thing I can figure out when compared to Ubuntu, is how to add repositories. I mean, there is no Software Sources app in Mint, am I right?

Could anybody give me some pointers on this one?

Thanks.

User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Adding repositories

Postby RedWagon » Sat May 30, 2009 11:34 am

You should still have Synaptic in Mint (not sure about 7) but my favorite way is just through the command line.
sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
then just paste the repo address at the bottom. You can replace gedit with any other text editor (vi, nano, abiword etc.)

jlbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: Adding repositories

Postby jlbr » Sat May 30, 2009 12:55 pm

Great tip.

Thanks!

jlbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: Adding repositories

Postby jlbr » Sat May 30, 2009 1:24 pm

Sorry, now I have another question, how do I add the public keys??

Thanks.

jlbr
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 5:02 pm

Re: Adding repositories

Postby jlbr » Sat May 30, 2009 1:30 pm

I've been reading some threads about adding keys, it looks complicated...

Help?

User avatar
RedWagon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 6:41 pm

Re: Adding repositories

Postby RedWagon » Sun May 31, 2009 5:49 pm

It's been awhile since I've added any repos, but I remember looking though the tutorials and thinking this was a lot harder than it should be then I found apt-key. I'm pretty sure
sudo apt-key add [filename]
will take care if it.

spet
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 3:42 am
Location: Basement under physics department at Aarhus University, Denmark
Contact:

Re: Adding repositories

Postby spet » Mon Jun 01, 2009 3:12 am

jlbr wrote:I've been reading some threads about adding keys, it looks complicated...

It may look complicated, but it really isn't. Check out this post I posted recently. Good luck :)


Return to “Newbie Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tlaz and 10 guests