(abandoned) Virtualbox Drivers: Why doesn't Mint tell me that I can not use virtualbox-guest-x11?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
gregoryshock
Level 3
Level 3

(abandoned) Virtualbox Drivers: Why doesn't Mint tell me that I can not use virtualbox-guest-x11?

Post by gregoryshock » Sat Mar 17, 2018 8:29 pm

I'm new to virtualbox. Following some online instructions I got Virtualbox Version 5.2.8 r121009 Installed. Once I got Linux Mint xfce 18.3 installed I realized that I was going to need the guestadditons installed. Following some more online instructions I installed the Additons with this command: sudo ./VBoxLinuxAdditons.run After installing all the updates I rebooted and then I tried to install the drivers. What I noticed is the driver virtualbox-guest-x11 installer freezes up. If I can not use this driver then how come the Driver Manager doesn't tell me so?
Last edited by gregoryshock on Sun Apr 22, 2018 8:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13

Re: Virtualbox Drivers: Why doesn't Mint tell me that I can not use virtualbox-guest-x11?

Post by Mute Ant » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:13 pm

The virtualbox-guest-additions are for Mint running in a virtualbox... is that what you are doing?
Data stored in an encrypted volume will only be accessible with the original password. Without this key, all the data will remain scrambled beyond hope of recovery.

gregoryshock
Level 3
Level 3

Re: Virtualbox Drivers: Why doesn't Mint tell me that I can not use virtualbox-guest-x11?

Post by gregoryshock » Sun Mar 18, 2018 12:27 am

Mute Ant wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:13 pm