[SOLVED] How do I partition my 1 TB hard drive to dual boot Windows 10 and Linux Mint Cinnamon?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
writer_from_hell

[SOLVED] How do I partition my 1 TB hard drive to dual boot Windows 10 and Linux Mint Cinnamon?

Post by writer_from_hell »

Hello,
I am getting the laptop Acer Aspire 5 and it comes with 1 TB of disk space. I have never used Linux before but I really want to switch to Linux but I need Windows for running some softwares (ECAD, CAD, EPLAN and some games etc) which aren't available for Linux.
I have never used Dual Boot before and I was hoping someone could help me decide how much space to allocate for Windows 10 and Linux Mint Cinnamon and how much to allocate for storing media files and documents which both OS can access.
I plan to use Linux as my primary OS but I don't want to run into any storage related problems down the line. So, basically I want both OS working properly and a separate partition which is used only for personal files.

Any help will be highly appreciated
Thank you, have a great day. :)
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 3 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
deepakdeshp
Level 20
Level 20

Re: How do I partition my 1 TB hard drive to dual boot Windows and Linux Mint Cinnamon?

Post by deepakdeshp »

If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help.
Regards,
Deepak