clone

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
asmolinski425
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:05 pm

clone

Post by asmolinski425 » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:35 am

I am switching my HDD with an SSD. What is the best way to clone my HDD to the SSD?

Mute Ant
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4926
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 7:45 pm
Location: Norfolk UK

Re: clone

Post by Mute Ant » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:06 am

"...best..." Will an exact copy fit in the new drive?

asmolinski
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2014 9:13 pm

Re: clone

Post by asmolinski » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:35 am

Yes everything will fit onto the new drive

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 666
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: clone

Post by sdibaja » Thu Apr 19, 2018 10:17 pm

dd is a good tool for an exact clone
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dd_(Unix)
===
dd tip:

sudo dd if=/dev/sdx of=/dev/sdx bs=4M status=progress && sync

so you can monitor the progress.

if is the input disk
of is the destination
replace sdx with actual name of the drive
list drive names with "sudo blkid"

!!! make darn sure that the correct path is used !!!
again >> sdx << is just an example, replace with true path

asmolinski425
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Dec 19, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: clone

Post by asmolinski425 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:08 pm

Thank you, I will give that a try

User avatar
sdibaja
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 666
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 12:57 pm
Location: Baja California, Mexico

Re: clone

Post by sdibaja » Fri Apr 20, 2018 3:16 pm

asmolinski425 wrote:
Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:08 pm
Thank you, I will give that a try
I am no expert. Please be careful. Research the commands a bit. Best of luck!

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”