is python3-pip a good package to use? [Solved]

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
james_1830

is python3-pip a good package to use? [Solved]

Post by james_1830 »

Hello all,

As you probably guessed, I am a noob to linux. I am a Software Engineer student exploring and learning programming. I dabbled a little in python, but I want to install different python modules. From my windows experience, I know pip comes with installing python. However, at least in Ubuntu and LInux Mint, you need to install a python package installer to get python modules. Python3-pip seems like a good package to use. However, from my research, I believe Linux Mint gets many package from Ubuntu, and Ubuntu gets many of its packages from Debian. On the Ubuntu launchpad site I looked at the date release of python-pip for the Ubutntu Xenial version. It was released in April of 2016. Correct me if I am wrong, I am assuming that if I download python3-pip from the software manager onto my linux mint, I will be getting a package that hasn't been updated since 2016. I believe that those who maintain python have already updated pip multiple times since then.

Even though python3-pip may be a few years old, will it download python modules safely, securely and accurately from PyPI? Will it install the packages on my system correctly?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
deepakdeshp
Level 20
Level 20