Freez locked-up

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Clon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:26 am

Freez locked-up

Post by Clon » Mon Apr 23, 2018 2:01 am

After clean installation of LM 18.3 (64bit) while almost every locking freeze time on logging screen and I am unable to log in. Mouse pointer is moving (restart by ctr+alt+backspace don't work).

Now I workaround it by switch to another tty (ctr+alt+f*) and sudo kill cinnamon-screen. After that popups window asking to restart cinnamon.

If I dismiss restart in that popup a restart from terminal by "cinnamon --replace"
it works and says :

Code: Select all

cinnamon --replace
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: About to start Cinnamon
St-Message: cogl npot texture sizes SUPPORTED
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Cinnamon started at Mon Apr 16 2018 10:02:09 GMT+0200 (CEST)
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: network applet: Cannot find connection for active (or connection cannot be read)

(cinnamon:14805): St-WARNING **: Ignoring length property that isn't a number at line 1526, col 13
openGL version 3.3 detected (GL3 Cogl Driver)
MetaSyncRing disabled: couldn't find required GL extensions, or the minimum safe openGL version was not met
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: Invalid network device type, is 14
Cjs-Message: JS LOG: network applet: Found connection for active

(cinnamon:14805): Clutter-WARNING **: clutter-actor.c:10026: Actor 'StIcon' tried to allocate a size of -33,00 x 24,00

(cinnamon:14805): Clutter-WARNING **: clutter-actor.c:10026: Actor 'StIcon' tried to allocate a size of -33,00 x 24,00

(cinnamon:14805): Clutter-WARNING **: clutter-actor.c:10026: Actor 'StIcon' tried to allocate a size of -33,00 x 24,00

(cinnamon:14805): Clutter-WARNING **: clutter-actor.c:10026: Actor 'StIcon' tried to allocate a size of -33,00 x 24,00

(cinnamon:14805): Clutter-WARNING **: clutter-actor.c:10026: Actor 'StIcon' tried to allocate a size of -33,00 x 24,00

(cinnamon:14805): Clutter-WARNING **: clutter-actor.c:10026: Actor 'StIcon' tried to allocate a size of -33,00 x 24,00
Cinnamon warning: Buggy client sent a _NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW message with a timestamp of 0 for 0x3a00003 (Ověření)

(cinnamon:14805): St-WARNING **: Ignoring length property that isn't a number at line 1526, col 13

(cinnamon:14805): St-WARNING **: Ignoring length property that isn't a number at line 1526, col 13
^C
It's happening on NTB Samsung R480 (https://www.czc.cz/samsung-r480-np-r480 ... 46/produkt) with GT216M and libre drivers nuveau 1:1.0.12-1build2

User avatar
kc1di
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4520
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:44 pm
Location: Maine USA

Re: Freez locked-up

Post by kc1di » Mon Apr 23, 2018 4:10 am

hello Clon and Welcome to Linux Mint Forums,

You need to install the correct Nvidia driver for that card. Nouveau is not stable.
Please go to Menu >Adiministration >Driver Manager and install the recommended Nvidia driver for your card.

See this release note for more info:
https://linuxmint.com/rel_sylvia_cinnamon.php
scroll down and read the section tittled : Solving freezes during the boot sequence.
Good Luck.
Easy tips : https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/
Linux Mint Installation Guide: http://linuxmint-installation-guide.rea ... en/latest/
Registered Linux User #462608

Clon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 1:26 am

Re: Freez locked-up

Post by Clon » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:53 am

I am trying to avoid proprietary software so Nvidia drivers isn't solution for me, but I understand that the problem is solved for you. Just to be sure, freezing with me did not happen when I booting, but just while wake-up after lock of computer.

Hoser Rob
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3973
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Freez locked-up

Post by Hoser Rob » Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:56 pm

Clon wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:53 am
I am trying to avoid proprietary software so Nvidia drivers isn't solution for me....
What about all the other firmware in the computer? It's just as proprietary. And good luck finding a useable browser that doesn't contain DRM code.

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 536
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Freez locked-up

Post by absque fenestris » Tue Apr 24, 2018 1:03 pm

Hoser Rob wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:56 pm
Clon wrote:
Tue Apr 24, 2018 12:53 am
I am trying to avoid proprietary software so Nvidia drivers isn't solution for me....
What about all the other firmware in the computer? It's just as proprietary. And good luck finding a useable browser that doesn't contain DRM code.
The web browser is the smallest problem: IceCat has been updated again after a long time...
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”