[SOLVED] Linux Mint bad video performance

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Salvi1912

[SOLVED] Linux Mint bad video performance

Post by Salvi1912 »

So hello everyone. I have just had my first glance of Linux Mint (first OS for this device). Considering the fact that i have no advanced knowledge in computers, it was expected to meet some difficulties with the system after installing it. With some research and nerves I have solved my issues up to this point. However, there is one issue that still bothers me - I can not find myself watching a smoothly running video.
I use Linux 18.3 Cinnamon , so the obvious solution will be to shift to xfce , but I really hope you have another solution for the case. Here is my CPU specifications :

Code: Select all

Desktop: Cinnamon 3.6.6 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: ASUSTeK (portable) product: X541UV v: 1.0
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X541UV v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: X541UV.305 date: 10/16/2017
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-6006U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 7968
           clock speeds: max: 2000 MHz 1: 419 MHz 2: 447 MHz 3: 421 MHz
           4: 532 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Sky Lake Integrated Graphics bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 134f bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 driver: nvidia
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.05hz