Page 1 of 1

CPU Microcode

Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 10:28 am
by toolrick
Dear Forum,

I would like to know if I should install the Intel CPU Microcode for my linux mint to work better or if I should live it just as it is.

Please let me know your thoughts and what it would be better... I believe I installed the CPU Microcode when installed Mint Cinnamon and things did not go well as long as I remember; now I am using Mint XFCE. If I get to install it and things do not go well, can I revert that?

Thanks,

RD

Re: CPU Microcode

Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 10:42 am
by Hoser Rob
The only real hard and fast rule I kinow of is to check the BIOS date which can be done with inxi -Fxz in the terminal. If the firmware update is dated earlier than the BIOS date, don't do it.

I think you can revert microcode updates, try a site specific search of this forum (the built in search stinks).

Re: CPU Microcode

Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 10:43 am
by kc1di
I've always installed the microcode on my installs. And have never seen a problem. Not sure it will really do much for performance though but it's a good idea for security reasons.
And yes you can reverse it easily.

Re: CPU Microcode

Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 11:56 am
by toolrick
Hoser Rob wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 10:42 am
The only real hard and fast rule I kinow of is to check the BIOS date which can be done with inxi -Fxz in the terminal. If the firmware update is dated earlier than the BIOS date, don't do it.

I think you can revert microcode updates, try a site specific search of this forum (the built in search stinks).
Thanks for your response, here is the information for the terminal:

Code: Select all

~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: ricardo-HP-Stream-x360-Convertible-PC-11 Kernel: 4.13.0-43-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.28) Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Stream x360 Convertible PC 11 v: Type1 - ProductConfigId
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 802B v: 57.19
           Bios: Insyde v: F.07 date: 03/28/2017
CPU:       Dual core Intel Celeron N2840 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 8663
           clock speeds: max: 2582 MHz 1: 2578 MHz 2: 2580 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@59.98hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Bay Trail
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 17.2.8 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.13.0-43-generic
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM43142 802.11b/g/n driver: wl bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8101/2/6E PCI Express Fast/Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 1000 bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: NA (-) ID-1: /dev/mmcblk0 model: N/A size: 31.3GB
           ID-2: /dev/mmcblk1 model: N/A size: 16.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 27G used: 11G (43%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/mmcblk0p2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 2.03GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/mmcblk0p3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 54.0C mobo: 0.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 172 Uptime: 7 min Memory: 1305.9/1881.3MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

Re: CPU Microcode

Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 12:20 pm
by toolrick
kc1di wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 10:43 am
I've always installed the microcode on my installs. And have never seen a problem. Not sure it will really do much for performance though but it's a good idea for security reasons.
And yes you can reverse it easily.
How could I reverse it in case it does not work well? Now I remember what happened when I installed the microcode... graphics started to flicker while playing videos.

RD

Re: CPU Microcode

Posted: Wed May 23, 2018 2:28 pm
by kc1di
you simply go to driver manager and choose don't update microcode and hit apply it will be removed.

Re: CPU Microcode

Posted: Fri May 25, 2018 1:17 pm
by toolrick
kc1di wrote:
Wed May 23, 2018 2:28 pm
you simply go to driver manager and choose don't update microcode and hit apply it will be removed.
I did that when I installed the Microcode, Turn off the computer and then turn it on... tried playing videos again and the flickering was there still.
I just wanted to know if that was necessary since I read that it was much better performance if one installed the microcode. If the PC is running well then I guess it would not affect if one does not install it?

RD