Firefox V.S. Chrome

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Tino2409
Level 1
Level 1

Firefox V.S. Chrome

Post by Tino2409 » Tue May 29, 2018 7:13 am

I am new to linux, installed it about 3 days ago.... I was wondering if anyone has google chrome for a web browser, and how they installed it, or am I better off getting used to Firefox? I am running linux mint 18.3

Moem
Level 17
Level 17

Re: Firefox V.S. Chrome

Post by Moem » Tue May 29, 2018 7:30 am

I don't use either, the browser world is a lot bigger than that... I use Waterfox, PaleMoon and Seamonkey, and if I need a Chrome-based browser I start up Chromium. it's very, very similar to Chrome.
Chromium can be installed from the Software Manager, which is the recommended way for a newcomer to install software. So that is what I'd advise you to do.

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

Pierre
Level 17
Level 17

Post by Pierre » Tue May 29, 2018 7:31 am

when you install LinuxMint - - you get Firefox as the Default,
but you can also install any other Web Browsers, that you wish to try. . .

to start with, just browse through the Featured Section of Software Manager,
and install one of those Web Browsers ,Eg: like Chrome / Chromium

then see what works for you - - play with Firefox as well, to see just what you like.
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] - when your problem is solved!
and DO LOOK at those Unanswered Topics - - you may be able to answer some!.

wwfwng
Level 2
Level 2

Post by wwfwng » Tue May 29, 2018 8:44 am