why all programs from flatpak open as superuser?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
ipman99
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:11 pm

why all programs from flatpak open as superuser?

Post by ipman99 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:59 am

I tried to install programs from flatpak (via software manager in mint), but every program I installed open as superuser. check the screenshot below.

Image

Why is that?. As far as I know, filezilla don't need root permissions to work. All the other programs from flatpak like vcode, atom, vlc are the same.
OMG LINUX!

User avatar
Sir Charles
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1832
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: why all programs from flatpak open as superuser?

Post by Sir Charles » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:26 am

There has been some reports on the same behavior on the forums. see: search.php?keywords=flatpak+superuser
I suppose that's one of the ironies of life, doing the wrong thing at the right moment -C.C.

User avatar
ipman99
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2015 11:11 pm

Re: why all programs from flatpak open as superuser?

Post by ipman99 » Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:58 am

thanks. well, they are not actually running as root.
OMG LINUX!

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”