How to duplicate a window?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
TL7
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 3:54 pm
Contact:

How to duplicate a window?

Post by TL7 » Wed Jun 20, 2018 10:26 am

In Windows starting at Windows 7, you can pull up or press the right mouse button on the task bar to pull up the taskbar

Image

KDE, Mint and Cinnamon have a poorly designed taskbar context menu. Pressing the right mouse button does not allow accessing the panel setings, and the ability to launch the same window again is also missing in all 4 desktops.
In Mate, one can not even remove the taskbar but has to recreate the panel to get rid of the tasbkar if it is on the wrong panel.

User avatar
Seadreamer
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2016 10:12 pm

Re: How to duplicate a window?

Post by Seadreamer » Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:21 am

What settings are you looking for? Right clicking allows you to access properties that allow some changes. Properties are Linux speak for settings...sometimes.
Homebrew Intel system
LinuxMint 19 Mate

User avatar
jimallyn
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8136
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:34 pm
Location: Wenatchee, WA USA

Re: How to duplicate a window?

Post by jimallyn » Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:42 pm

Mint 17.3 Cinnamon:
RightClickPanelSettings.png
Image

“If the government were coming for your TVs and cars, then you'd be upset. But, as it is, they're only coming for your sons.” - Daniel Berrigan

User avatar
AndyMH
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 430
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: How to duplicate a window?

Post by AndyMH » Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:44 pm

KDE, Mint and Cinnamon have a poorly designed taskbar context menu
Just because it behaves differently from windows does not make it poorly designed.
Thinkpad T430 i7-3632 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T420 Cinnamon 18.3, Thinkpad T410 Cinnamon 17.3, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”