(Solved)Pulse Audio issues

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

(Solved)Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:10 am

No sound, I clicked a video on youtube and after the wait icon twirled for a bit I got a pop-up message saying that if it did not play soon to reboot my computer, which I ended up doing and now no sound works
Last edited by 3hre on Thu Jul 26, 2018 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hoser Rob
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4080
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Hoser Rob » Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:26 am

Could you be more specific about the error message? Did it mention pulseaudio or are you just assuming it's pulse related?

There's no useful system info there at all, copy/paste this to the terminal and copy/.paste the text output here (no screenshots please):

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
And since you lost all sound after a reboot you should show your recent updates, copy/paste the text output of this as above:

Code: Select all

less /var/log/apt/history.log

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:19 am

Hoser Rob wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:26 am
.

Code: Select all

System:    Host: -15IKB Kernel: 4.4.0-128-generic x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Xfce 4.12.3 (Gtk 2.24.28) Distro: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Machine:   System: LENOVO (portable) product: 80TV v: Lenovo ideapad 310-15IKB
           Mobo: LENOVO model: Torronto 5C2 v: SDK0J40709 WIN
           Bios: LENOVO v: 3JCN21WW date: 09/23/2016
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i7-7500U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 11615
           clock speeds: max: 3500 MHz 1: 803 MHz 2: 872 MHz 3: 872 MHz
           4: 1355 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Device 5916 bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Kabylake GT2
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 11.2.0 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Device 9d71 driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-128-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: 4000 bus-ID: 01:00.0
           IF: enp1s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8821AE 802.11ac PCIe Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: rtl8821ae port: 3000 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (3.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST1000LM035 size: 1000.2GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 905G used: 25G (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 12.78GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 36.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 188 Uptime: 7:23 Memory: 1835.0/3851.3MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 

Code: Select all

Start-Date: 2018-06-03  21:44:27
Commandline: /usr/bin/apt install hwinfo
Requested-By: wicked (1000)
Install: libhd21:amd64 (21.23-1, automatic), hwinfo:amd64 (21.23-1), libx86emu1:amd64 (1.5-1, automatic)
End-Date: 2018-06-03  21:44:45

Start-Date: 2018-06-04  10:06:14
Commandline: /usr/sbin/synaptic --hide-main-window --non-interactive --parent-window-id 60817726 -o Synaptic::closeZvt=true --set-selections-file /tmp/tmpjzdw7644
Requested-By: wicked (1000)
Upgrade: libexempi3:amd64 (2.2.2-2, 2.2.2-2ubuntu0.1)
End-Date: 2018-06-04  10:06:24

Start-Date: 2018-06-05  13:19:21
Commandline: /usr/sbin/synaptic --hide-main-window --non-interactive --parent-window-id 60817726 -o Synaptic::closeZvt=true --set-selections-file /tmp/tmpnupdopj1
Requested-By: wicked (1000)
Upgrade: libelf1:amd64 (0.165-3ubuntu1, 0.165-3ubuntu1.1), libelf1:i386 (0.165-3ubuntu1, 0.165-3ubuntu1.1)
Last edited by karlchen on Fri Jun 22, 2018 5:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: added [code] tags around inxi output and around history.log extract

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:45 am

Hoser Rob wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:26 am
Could you be more specific about the error message? Did it mention pulseaudio or are you just assuming it's pulse related?
Assuming ~ there has been no error message received

Hoser Rob
Level 12
Level 12
Posts: 4080
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Hoser Rob » Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:47 am

3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:45 am
Hoser Rob wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:26 am
Could you be more specific about the error message? Did it mention pulseaudio or are you just assuming it's pulse related?
Assuming ~ there has been no error message received
If you're going to write something like "I got a pop-up message" etc, of course I assumed you got an error message. Maybe English isn't your first language but that's what it looks like.

User avatar
Flemur
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6043
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2012 9:41 pm
Location: Potemkin Village

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Flemur » Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:02 am

3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:10 am
No sound, I clicked a video on youtube and after the wait icon twirled for a bit I got a pop-up message saying that if it did not play soon to reboot my computer, which I ended up doing and now no sound works
So you had no sound to begin with, then you got an error message from youtube - one which I've never seen or heard of if it said to reboot your computer - apparently regarding internet connectivity, so you rebooted and you still don't have any sound.

What makes you think it has something to do with pulseaudio?
Please edit your original post title to include [SOLVED] if/when it is solved!
Your data and OS are backed up....right?
Mint 18.3 Xfce/fluxbox/pulse-less
Xubuntu 17.10/fluxbox/pulse-less

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2048
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by trytip » Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:45 am

this seems to work most of the time delete .config/pulse then open terminal and type pulseaudio -k or reboot
Image

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:51 am

Hoser Rob wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:47 am
3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:45 am
Hoser Rob wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 7:26 am
Could you be more specific about the error message? Did it mention pulseaudio or are you just assuming it's pulse related?
Assuming ~ there has been no error message received
If you're going to write something like "I got a pop-up message" etc, of course I assumed you got an error message. Maybe English isn't your first language but that's what it looks like.
The message was over the youtube video and it did not say I had no sound. It said if the video took too long loading to reboot; previous to me rebooting I did have sound.

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:58 am

Flemur wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 9:02 am
3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:10 am
No sound, I clicked a video on youtube and after the wait icon twirled for a bit I got a pop-up message saying that if it did not play soon to reboot my computer, which I ended up doing and now no sound works
So you had no sound to begin with, then you got an error message from youtube - one which I've never seen or heard of if it said to reboot your computer - apparently regarding internet connectivity, so you rebooted and you still don't have any sound.

What makes you think it has something to do with pulseaudio?
I have never seen it before either. I did my due diligence to try and ascertain why. The only reason I thought it to be pulseaudio related is because the only other time this happened it was pulseaudio related. What, beyond the loading issues, caused you to conclude that it was an internet connectivity issue? I can load in videos on youtube w/o error but still have no sound :/

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:27 am

And there is no indicator of my sound card either which previous there was. This is just something I saw after doing some more digging around
Screenshot_2018-06-22_10-17-11.png
Screenshot_2018-06-22_10-16-50.png
Screenshot_2018-06-22_10-16-00.png

Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Mattyboy » Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:44 am

Is this problem specific to web browsers?

Can you hear sound if you're playing an MP3 or watching a video ( not streaming )?

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 10:52 am

No :/

Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Mattyboy » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:01 am

try

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge pulseaudio
sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get autoremove

Code: Select all

rm -R ~/.config/pulse
reboot

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install pulseaudio

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:20 am

No dice :(
Mattyboy wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:01 am
try

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get purge pulseaudio
sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get autoremove

Code: Select all

rm -R ~/.config/pulse
reboot

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install pulseaudio

Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Mattyboy » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:27 am

3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:20 am
No dice :(

:( sorry, can't help further. It's got me..... but worth a go.

I do remember audio issues on firefox 59 in 18.3 ( but you should be on 60 now ) that were fixed by

Code: Select all

pkill pulseaudio
and reloading the tab.... don't think that's the issue here.

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:31 am

Mattyboy wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:27 am
3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:20 am
No dice :(

:( sorry, can't help further. It's got me..... but worth a go.

I do remember audio issues on firefox 59 in 18.3 ( but you should be on 60 now ) that were fixed by

Code: Select all

pkill pulseaudio
and reloading the tab.... don't think that's the issue here.
Thank you for helping! I appreciate it very much (and yes on Firefox 60)

Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Mattyboy » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:41 am

3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:31 am


Thank you for helping! I appreciate it very much (and yes on Firefox 60)
I would try booting a live USB to determine if its a problem with your install ( you have sound ) or hardware ( still don't have sound ).

User avatar
Sir Charles
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1832
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:00 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Sir Charles » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:43 am

Try installing alsamixer and run it a terminal to see if your sound card shows up in there:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get alsamixer
In terminal:

Code: Select all

alsamixer
Press F6 to see if you can choose your sound card.
I suppose that's one of the ironies of life, doing the wrong thing at the right moment -C.C.

3hre
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by 3hre » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:45 am

Good idea, I will do that after I get off the phone with the net provider to rule out it being a connectivity issue as suggested by Hoser Rob

And that too Marziano!

Mattyboy
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1196
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:17 pm

Re: Pulse Audio issues

Post by Mattyboy » Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:47 am

3hre wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:45 am
I will do that after I get off the phone with the net provider

Yeah.. good luck with that... don't mention you're using Linux :lol: :lol:

EDIT:.. you could also try updating your Kernel ( they contain hardware drivers ) in the update manager... only do this if you completely understand how to boot to an earlier one and how to remove them.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”