Upgrade to Mint 19 slows my PC especially boot

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
LegacyMJR

Upgrade to Mint 19 slows my PC especially boot

Post by LegacyMJR »

I have been using Linux Mint MATE for a couple of months (Windows convert). Running quite happily until I decided to upgrade to 19 last week. Luckily I did a full metal backup using Clonezilla to my Nas before I started. So I did a clean install of 64 bit Mint MATE 19 then ran all the updates. My boot time went from 10 seconds (SSD) to 4 minutes and 40 seconds! Discovered by reading that there is a problem with kernel version 24 so I re-did it stopping at kernel version 20. My boot time then dropped to 45 seconds and the whole system just "felt" slower. Am I doomed to forever sit on 18.3? Is it because my system is a few years old? Samsung Q330 with SSD and 8gb RAM. (Note that 18.3 was notably faster than Windows 10 but 19 is slower.)
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
xenopeek
Level 25
Level 25

Re: Upgrade to Mint 19 slows my PC especially boot

Post by xenopeek »

It's because you updated everything and there is a bug in the latest kernel update (4.15.0-24) that causes the 4 minute boot issue. See viewtopic.php?f=46&t=272263#p1490119. You should be fine with Linux Mint 19, just avoid that kernel version.
LegacyMJR

Post by LegacyMJR »