unable to launch "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" X session --- "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" not found; falling back to defaul

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
gkam

unable to launch "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" X session --- "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" not found; falling back to defaul

Post by gkam »

Hello. I am quite new to Linux and just to try to be familiar with linux. But every time when face problems then lost my motivation to use linux and it stops for me to try linux more for longer time. It happened many times and I really go away from Windows..
I have now recently installed cinnamon 19 version . I got following error after i was fixing some sound problems.

Xsession: unable to launch "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" X session --- "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" not found; falling back to default session.

When I click Ok I get a black screen and can only see my cursor. What can I do to solve this?

Thanks!
Lord Boltar
Level 5
Level 5

Re: unable to launch "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" X session --- "cinnamon-session-cinnamon" not found; falling back to de

Post by Lord Boltar »

I have solved the issue for me, however, your millage may vary.
  • boot to the linux mint version.
  • Wait for the login screen and login.
  • Get the error? Click ok.
  • Get the black screen? Type Cntrl-Alt F1
  • Get the prompt?
  • Login with your name and password.
  • sudo apt-get update
  • sudo apt-get install nemo
  • sudo apt-get install cinnamon
  • reboot