[Solved] Installing a Network Printer on Mint 19 Laptop?

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
cereal_killerxx

[Solved] Installing a Network Printer on Mint 19 Laptop?

Post by cereal_killerxx »

I'm a noob with Linux so maybe someone can help me. I installed the printer using CUPS on the web interface. I used ipp://W.X.Y.Z/ipp/print for the Device URI (as shown on the printer's ip address web interface). Linux didn't have the driver for that particular printer so I downloaded one from the website. It was a tar.gz file. I unzipped it and manually selected the PPD file from CUPS in the uld/noarch/share/ppd folder that I unzipped. The Printer State remains at "Ide - Rendering Complete." When I try to print a test page, I get an error. Under CUPS, it shows up as "Filter Failed." The printer I'm trying to install is a Xerox Phaser 3260. It prints just fine from a Windows Desktop or Laptop computer. Any help?
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
ralplpcr
Level 6
Level 6

Re: Installing a Network Printer on Mint 19 Laptop?

Post by ralplpcr »

How does this printer connect to the network? Is it shared via a direct connection to another computer, or does it use the built-in print server? If it's via print server, does your printer have an ethernet connection, or just the wi-fi connection?