Unexpected Shutdown - Where to look for clues

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
Imposter

Unexpected Shutdown - Where to look for clues

Post by Imposter »

Occasionally Mint shutdowns on me when I'm not there. I often leave the computer on, sometimes for days without problems. Then once or twice I've found that it's shutdown on its own. I'm wondering if there are any logs or messages that could point to a reason why it would shutdown?

As a newbie I'd appreciate any clues or pointers of which commands to use; where to look; and maybe what to look for.
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gm10

Re: Unexpected Shutdown - Where to look for clues

Post by gm10 »

I take it you ruled out power manager settings that would sleep or hibernate the computer. There's also appllications like e.g. download managers that come with options to shut down your computer once scheduled operations are completed.

Otherwise run last shutdown -x | more to find out when the device shut down exactly while you weren't there, then you can check the logs from that time to see what was happening. /var/log/syslog or /var/log/kern.log might have some information (there's a log file viewer available in the menu, too).