Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Locked
Lee_on
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:34 am

Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by Lee_on »

Hi there

I am on Linux Mint 19 Tara cinnamon and I need help please, I need to add screen resolution of 1920x1080 as a permanent option, I know how to go into terminal and do the following steps,
1. Cvt 1920 1080,
2. xrandr –newmode,
3.xrandr --addmode VGA-1,

After these steps the resolution is there and I am able to select it from the options and it works but then when I restart the PC the option is gone, so I need help to basically add this option permanently to the machine so that when you switch the machine off and on the resolution option remain, I have tried from other forums the following but it didn't work,
1.Alt+Ctrl+F1 (switch to console mode)
2.Login by typing user name and password
3.sudo service lightdm stop (For Mint 12 Lisa users) or sudo service mdm stop (For Mint 13 Maya users)
4.sudo X -configure (generates new xorg.conf file)

I do not get the xorg.conf file or if its there I cant find it.

Please help me with step by step guide as my knowledge is limited,,lol
User avatar
Lord Boltar
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 729
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:24 pm
Location: Sunny Florida

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by Lord Boltar »

First you want to run the CVT Tool

In terminal type in cvt 1920 1080 or whatever resolution you desire

You should see an output similar to this
1920x1080 59.96 Hz (CVT 2.07M9) hsync: 67.16 kHz; pclk: 173.00 MHz
Modeline "1920x1080_60.00" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync

Next type in xrandr –newmode then copy and paste everything from Modeline above so it looks like below

xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync

Next you have to add the desired mode

xrandr --addmode "1920x1080_60.00"

xrandr --output --mode "1920x1080_60.00"
First command creates a new mode with resolution 1920x1080
Second command makes it available for use, with display (VGA-0 may be needed depends on your xrandr output)
Third command selects the newly added mode as the display resolution for the specified display
Thats it. Enjoy
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members

The only way for evil to prosper is for good men to do nothing
ralplpcr
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 859
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:11 am

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by ralplpcr »

Hi Lee_on, and welcome to the forums!

There's a couple of ways you can go with this... it all depends on how much (if any) work you wish to do after booting to set the resolution?

The easiest method I can think of would be to create a bash file containing the commands needed to set your resolution.

(I'm going to give the full output lines from my system setting 1280x1024 as an example. Adjust for your own system with the results of your chosen resolution as needed!)

Open a terminal, and execute the following commands in sequence:
1. Type cvt 1280 1024 and press ENTER.
2. You should get an output similar to the following:

Code: Select all

# 1280x1024 59.89 Hz (CVT 1.31M4) hsync: 63.67 kHz; pclk: 109.00 MHz
Modeline "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
3. Copy everything after the "Modeline", and paste it in after the "--newmode" command as follows:

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
4. Now, just type xrandr. This will give you something like:

Code: Select all

Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1280 x 1024, maximum 1920 x 2048
VGA-0 connected primary 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768       60.0  
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   848x480        60.0  
   640x480        59.9  
   1280x1024_60.00   59.9* 
5. The connected screen name is what you need - on my system, it's VGA-0. It should also show the new resolution as stored... not yet active, however.
6. Type xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1280x1024_60.00. This will add the mode to the dropdown when you go into the display settings.
7. Type xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode "1280x1024_60.00". This should change your resolution within a split second to your desired setting.

If you followed the above instructions and have successfully gotten the screen to change to your desired resolution, you can now create a bash file to automate this.

Open a text editor. XED is the one that comes with Cinnamon. You'll need to take some of the outputs that you manually entered and duplicate them exactly here.... fortunately, copy/paste works pretty well for that!

Again, using my example above, I'd put the following into my bash file:

Code: Select all

#! /bin/bash
xrandr --newmode "1280x1024_60.00"  109.00  1280 1368 1496 1712  1024 1027 1034 1063 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1280x1024_60.00
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode "1280x1024_60.00"
Save this on your ~/Desktop, and call it something like "SetResolution.sh".
- Once it's saved, close your text editor.
- Right-click on the icon for SetResolution.sh, and choose "Properties".
- Select the "Permissions" tab.
- Click on the checkbox to allow executing file as program, and then click "Close".

You should now be able to double-click this file and instantly change your resolution whenever you boot into your system.

If you want it to be automated, simply add a link to this file into your Startup Applications (which you can find in your menu)

Good luck!
Lee_on
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:34 am

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by Lee_on »

Hi there ralplpcr,
thank you so much for your time and effort, i will definitely try your suggestion and give feedback
Lee_on
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:34 am

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by Lee_on »

Thank you Lord Boltar also for your feedback
Lee_on
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 4:34 am

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by Lee_on »

Sorted..!!!! Thank you so much ralplpcr, your suggestion works perfectly, its fully automated now.
ralplpcr
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 859
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2015 10:11 am

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by ralplpcr »

Lee_on wrote:
Tue Jul 31, 2018 11:04 am
Sorted..!!!! Thank you so much ralplpcr, your suggestion works perfectly, its fully automated now.
Excellent! Glad it worked for you! :)
mickeymike
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2018 12:20 am

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by mickeymike »

Thank you! I've been using Mint on this Dell desktop since July 2018. This is my first venture into Linux. I needed 1360x768 resolution and there was no option for it, so after reading some Mint forums online I figured out how to add it. Then, just a few days ago, I blew up everything accidentally and had to re-install Mint 19 Tara, and then upgrade to Tessa. Then I noticed 1360x768 was gone and what I did the first time to fix it didn't work anymore. So I looked and looked and found this thread, followed the instructions and 1360x768 is back! It works! You should write service manuals for a living, lol. Thanks again!
User avatar
AndyMH
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4726
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 5:23 pm
Location: Wiltshire

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by AndyMH »

The easiest way to do this is to put the xrandr commands into your .profile file. This is executed at startup. This lives in home, just add the commands at the end.
Homebrew i5-8400+GTX1080 Cinnamon 19.0, 3 x Thinkpad T430 Cinnamon 19.0, i7-3632 , i5-3320, i5-3210, Thinkpad T60 19.0 Mate
tshann
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 12:34 pm

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by tshann »

ralplpcr's fix worked wonders for me - even with a dual monitor setup with some OLD Flat screens. Worked awesome with Mint Xfce 19.1 on a Quad Core Dell Optiplex 755 with an Nvidia card.

Thanks!
PhillDragon
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:28 pm

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by PhillDragon »

I tried your method ralplpcr, to insert the resolution 1366x768, but when I put the command xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1366x768_60.00, it return a error.
When I type xrandr, the resolution list shows the resolution on DV-I mode, how can I put this resolution on VGA?
Sorry for any grammar error, I'm from Brasil and my english ins't that good!
wwfwng
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2012 9:19 pm

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by wwfwng »

AndyMH wrote:
Fri Feb 01, 2019 1:34 am
The easiest way to do this is to put the xrandr commands into your .profile file. This is executed at startup. This lives in home, just add the commands at the end.
Agreed. Also, keep a copy of this file for when you switch machines or do a clean install.
User avatar
I2k4
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 678
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by I2k4 »

I agree with others, above, except I don't muck with the .profile executable file, but instead create a separate file named .xprofile exclusively for the one monitor's settings.

For my Samsung monitor the CVT output was

<Modeline> "1904x1200_60.00" 191.00 1904 2032 2232 2560 1200 1203 1213 1245 -hsync +vsync

You can see the setting for my screen is actually 1904 rather than 1900. Simply creating the empty executable I paste in:

xrandr --newmode "1904x1200_60.00" 191.00 1904 2032 2232 2560 1200 1203 1213 1245 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA1 1904x1200_60.00
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1904x1200_60.00

and add to the Home folder (set to show hidden files). I store a copy of the Xprofile document without the dot prefix - to have it visible and handy to insert in any Home folder booting with the attached screen, regardless of the PC and specific version of Mint.
TRUST BUT VERIFY any advice from anybody, including me. Mint/Ubuntu user since 10.04 LTS. LM20 64 bit XFCE (Dell 1520). Dual booting LM20 XFCE / Win7 (Lenovo desktop and Acer netbook).
Richard_Cardiff
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2019 1:42 pm

Re: Add screen resolution 1920x1080 permanently

Post by Richard_Cardiff »

Hello there!

I was trying to increase the resolution for my dual display graphics card. - NVIDIA G84GL - Quadro FX 370
Based on the information above, I was able to complete the process in just a few lines. - Thank you all.

Richard xXx

Graphics :
Device-1: NVIDIA G84GL [Quadro FX 370] driver: nouveau v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.0
chip ID: 10de:040a
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: nouveau unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa
resolution: 1024x768~60Hz, 1024x768~60Hz
OpenGL: renderer: NV84 v: 3.3 Mesa 19.0.8 direct render: Yes

#! /bin/bash
xrandr --newmode DVI-I-2 "1440x900_60.00" 106.50 1440 1528 1672 1904 900 903 909 934
xrandr --newmode DVI-I-1 "1440x900_60.00" 106.50 1440 1528 1672 1904 900 903 909 934
xrandr --addmode DVI-I-1 1440x900_60.00
xrandr --addmode DVI-I-2 1440x900_60.00
Locked

Return to “Newbie Questions”