network card

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
chazb
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

network card

Post by chazb » Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:36 am

LM 17, Quana, Cinnamon.
I am currently having trouble with off an on either net connection. At first I thought it was my modem, but after borrowing a friend's laptop and everything worked fine, I decided it was my onboard either net connection. So I thought I might by-pass my main board connection with a PCI card. So after rummaging through some of my old computers I found a "Compac PCI 10/100 wol" network card. So the question is do I have to worry about drivers, like do they come with LM 17, or do I have to download them? If I have to download them, where do I find them and how do I install them?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: network card

Post by catweazel » Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:40 am

chazb wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:36 am
So the question is do I have to worry about drivers, like do they come with LM 17, or do I have to download them? If I have to download them, where do I find them and how do I install them?
The way to find out is to switch the machine off, plug the card in, boot the machine and see if it works. The driver could already be in the kernel, and if it is, the card should just work.
Caution: Dancing Wu Li Master and Official curmudgeon-in-chief

User avatar
chazb
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

Re: network card

Post by chazb » Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:06 am

catweazel wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 12:40 am
The way to find out is to switch the machine off, plug the card in, boot the machine and see if it works. The driver could already be in the kernel, and if it is, the card should just work.
I thought as much, but I wanted to get some opinions first, nothing like being prepared.
On another note , where did you get that wild profile picture?

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: network card

Post by catweazel » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:30 am

chazb wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:06 am
On another note , where did you get that wild profile picture?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catweazle

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yTQyKC07TEo

@48 seconds you'll see how to fix computers :)
Caution: Dancing Wu Li Master and Official curmudgeon-in-chief

User avatar
Faust
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 398
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2016 3:40 am

Re: network card

Post by Faust » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:39 am

chazb wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:06 am
.....
On another note , where did you get that wild profile picture?
And a follow-up question ....
How close is the physical resemblance ?
:lol:
" And so it goes " - Kurt Vonnegut
The modern reality and the satirical parody are rapidly converging .

User avatar
catweazel
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Oct 12, 2012 9:44 pm
Location: Australian Antarctic Territory

Re: network card

Post by catweazel » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:41 am

Faust wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:39 am
chazb wrote:
Sun Aug 12, 2018 1:06 am
.....
On another note , where did you get that wild profile picture?
And a follow-up question ....
How close is the physical resemblance ?
:lol:
Very.
Caution: Dancing Wu Li Master and Official curmudgeon-in-chief

User avatar
chazb
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 166
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 2:56 am
Location: Oklahoma

Re: network card

Post by chazb » Wed Aug 15, 2018 4:14 pm

L7 17, Quana, Cinnamon.
So I put the card in and hooked the either-net cable , and nothing happened, the mouse froze the keyboard froze. So I put the cable where it was and every thing stayed frozen, I had to reboot, After repeated attempts with some variations, I gave up. But then again I might have expecting too much. The hard drive I am using started out in a Dell laptop, and after pouring coffee on the keyboard, I removed the sata hard drive and put it in an old Dell tower, and it worked. Which leads me to believe that Linux Mint is not architecture dependent. So I am thinking it the Dell tower an Optiplex 620, is the problem probably some proprietary thing, which Dell is famous for.

I am not going to worry about it, I am looking around for another used laptop and then I will be back in good form.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”