Changes from 17 to 19 not sure of how to fix

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
darrenadelaide

Changes from 17 to 19 not sure of how to fix

Post by darrenadelaide »

Hi,

I am about to replace one of my machines ( I have 2 +1 new one in prep to replace #2) and have run up a new install. I have been using mint for about 3-4 years and it works extremely well. I have a little more experienced than most users having been a programmer/systems analyst for 25-30 years and having switched to linux since i retired am wondering why I didnt do it many years earlier.

I have the 3 machines on a local network which I use the linux remote desktop to switch between them and move files about using nemo.

Tara (19) is a little different in a number of matters and wondering how to get round. I have looked around at the forums and stackexchange/searched and havent had much luck in 2 main areas.

Firstly Vino just wont work, I have tried uninstalling it, auto removing, rebooting, then installing, rebooting etc (reminds me of windows) but no matter what i try I cant get it anywhere to allow me to connect to that machine, I have tried following the instructions in dconf editor but there is no org.gnome.vino settings at all, I have used this for many years (im the extended families help desk) and this is the first time ive had any issues. Is there a simple list of steps to install and get it running?