[SOLVED] Display resolution after new install

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
rbsudo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:59 am

[SOLVED] Display resolution after new install

Post by rbsudo »

I just re-installed LM 18.3 Cinnamon 64-bit w Kernel 4.10.0-38-generic.

After the install the Display showed Unknown VGA and the highest resolution (of two shown) was 1024x768.

The resolution for my HP x22LED is 1920x1080.

After searching around, I found how to add 1920x1080 to the Display dropdown using xrandr on terminal.

The problem is that it is just a temporary thing, and I have to do it every time after I close/open LM.

Any ideas on how to fix this permanently? Thanks!
Last edited by rbsudo on Thu Aug 16, 2018 7:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia.. Cinnamon.. 32-bit and 64-bit
"I learn by going where I have to go," Roethke

rbsudo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:59 am

[SOLVED} Re: Display resolution after new install

Post by rbsudo »

I found this and it's working for me.

See his comments near the end about entering the two commands from xrandr in the profile and saving.

http://ubuntuhandbook.org/index.php/201 ... u-desktop/
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia.. Cinnamon.. 32-bit and 64-bit
"I learn by going where I have to go," Roethke

deepakdeshp
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7772
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: [SOLVED] Display resolution after new install

Post by deepakdeshp »

You have to edit the .profile via command:
gedit ~/.profile
add the last 2 commands to the end and save the change
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

rbsudo
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 10:59 am

Re: [SOLVED] Display resolution after new install

Post by rbsudo »

Since running Linux Mint for awhile now, I had never encountered the Display feature showing Unknown VGA.

Yesterday I found the cause. It turned out to be a loose VGA cable connection at the monitor itself. After connecting the cable firmly, the Display feature recognized my monitor and its native resolution.
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia.. Cinnamon.. 32-bit and 64-bit
"I learn by going where I have to go," Roethke

deepakdeshp
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7772
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: [SOLVED] Display resolution after new install

Post by deepakdeshp »

rbsudo wrote:
Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:42 am
Since running Linux Mint for awhile now, I had never encountered the Display feature showing Unknown VGA.

Yesterday I found the cause. It turned out to be a loose VGA cable connection at the monitor itself. After connecting the cable firmly, the Display feature recognized my monitor and its native resolution.
Good to know that you found and rectified the issue!
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”