32bit system

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
Rustythefox
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 5:39 pm

32bit system

Post by Rustythefox »

Hello... I am a newbie to all of this. I will be short.
I have a very very old weak machine (2 GB RAM 2,7 AMD dual, 512 mb Nvidia Gforce 8500).
I saw that Ubuntu from now on will get only 64 bit distributives. And this what worries me - I can't use 64bit for obvious reasons.
so here are the questions:
1. Will this be the same for Mint and other systems?
2. If yes, can I still use 32 bit system without support?
thanks.
P.S. No, I can't upgrade my hardware. I live in a middle of civil war.
gm10
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 10999
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: 32bit system

Post by gm10 »

Ubuntu releases are already only 64-bit. Mint nevertheless released 32-bit images for LM19 and they will continue receiving support until 2023.

Whether Mint will still be releasing 32-bit images by 2023 I cannot tell you, but considering desktop 64-bit processors will have been around for 20 years by then, personally I think it will really be time for 32-bit to die. Bless your hardware if it survives that long. 20 years is certainly way beyond the expected life expectancy.
AscLinux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: 32bit system

Post by AscLinux »

What is "2,7 AMD dual"? 2 GB of RAM is enough to run 64 bit Linux.
turtlebay
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 630
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 12:33 pm

Re: 32bit system

Post by turtlebay »

Code: Select all

2 GB RAM 2,7 AMD dual, 512 mb Nvidia Gforce 8500
With that hardware you can run 64 bit distros.
My computer is older with less resources and it runs 64bit beautifully.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”