Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
marklicc9
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:23 pm

Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

Post by marklicc9 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:16 pm

I get this message after updates. Is a repository problem?

Target Packages (stable/binary-amd64/Packages) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:2
Target Packages (stable/binary-all/Packages) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:2
Target Translations (stable/i18n/Translation-en_US) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:2
Target Translations (stable/i18n/Translation-en) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:2
Target Packages (stable/binary-amd64/Packages) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:3
Target Packages (stable/binary-all/Packages) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:3
Target Translations (stable/i18n/Translation-en_US) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:3
Target Translations (stable/i18n/Translation-en) is configured multiple times in /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:1 and /etc/apt/sources.list.d/additional-repositories.list:3
The repository 'https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia Release' does not have a Release file.
Data from such a repository can't be authenticated and is therefore potentially dangerous to use.See apt-secure(8) manpage for repository creation and user configuration details.
Failed to fetch https://download.docker.com/linux/ubunt ... 4/Packages
404 Not Found
Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.
Last edited by Moem on Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added some line breaks to make your post easier to read.

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4580
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

Post by gm10 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:23 pm

Run this to take care of the duplicates:

Code: Select all

find /etc/apt -name *.list -print|sed 's/.*/F=&;cat <(sort -u $F)|sudo tee $F/'|source /dev/stdin
Then go to Software Sources > Additional Repositories and remove or fix those broken Docker repo entries (it should say xenial instead of sylvia).

Last but not least, meditate on what you did to cause this mess and don't do it again. :D

marklicc9
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

Post by marklicc9 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:03 pm

Thanks for the advice. I ran the command and got this:

deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ xenial partner
deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu xenial-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu xenial main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu xenial-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://mirror.clarkson.edu/linuxmint/packages sylvia main upstream import backport
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ xenial-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/gns3/ppa/ubuntu xenial main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/gns3/ppa/ubuntu xenial main
deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia stable
deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia stable
#deb cdrom:[Linux Mint 18.3 _Sylvia_ - Release amd64 20171124]/ xenial contrib main non-free

Then I went to the Additional repositories and found two identical Docker Repositories that have this URL:

deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia stable

Should I disable them? Or should I change one of them from sylvia to xenial and delet the other?

I have had problems installing GNS3 and I suspect that is the problem. FYI I am Buddhist and meditate daily so your advice is well taken! Thanks

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2482
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

Post by trytip » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:17 pm

yes disable Docker. it's either down or dead. you can enable it in a few days to see if it's up
Image

marklicc9
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:23 pm

Re: Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

Post by marklicc9 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:19 pm

gm10 wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 7:23 pm
Run this to take care of the duplicates:

Code: Select all

find /etc/apt -name *.list -print|sed 's/.*/F=&;cat <(sort -u $F)|sudo tee $F/'|source /dev/stdin
Then go to Software Sources > Additional Repositories and remove or fix those broken Docker repo entries (it should say xenial instead of sylvia).

Last but not least, meditate on what you did to cause this mess and don't do it again. :D

Thanks for the advice. I ran the command and got this:

deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ xenial partner
deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu xenial-backports main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu xenial main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://la-mirrors.evowise.com/ubuntu xenial-updates main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://mirror.clarkson.edu/linuxmint/packages sylvia main upstream import backport
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ xenial-security main restricted universe multiverse
deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/gns3/ppa/ubuntu xenial main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/gns3/ppa/ubuntu xenial main
deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia stable
deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia stable
#deb cdrom:[Linux Mint 18.3 _Sylvia_ - Release amd64 20171124]/ xenial contrib main non-free

Then I went to the Additional repositories and found two identical Docker Repositories that have this URL:

deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia stable

Should I disable them? Or should I change one of them from sylvia to xenial and delet the other?

I have had problems installing GNS3 and I suspect that is the problem. FYI I am Buddhist and meditate daily so your advice is well taken! Thanks

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4580
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

Post by gm10 » Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:26 pm

marklicc9 wrote:
Mon Sep 10, 2018 8:19 pm
Then I went to the Additional repositories and found two identical Docker Repositories that have this URL:

deb [arch=amd64] https://download.docker.com/linux/ubuntu sylvia stable

Should I disable them? Or should I change one of them from sylvia to xenial and delet the other?
That's up to you, depending on whether you actually use docker or not. If you want to keep using it then yes, change one of them like that and remove the other.

User avatar
ctfolmar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 8:43 pm
Location: Texas

Re: Do I have to try a new repositry for updates?

Post by ctfolmar » Mon Sep 24, 2018 7:59 pm

Just wanted to say thanks for the solution. It seems to have worked for me as well. It's great to have you guys here.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”