Screen flicker and tearing

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
principalmoo

Screen flicker and tearing

Post by principalmoo »

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to Linux and Linux Mint. I installed Linux Mint after remembering how much I hate Windows 10 (I have been using Apple for the longest time) and everything is going well except for one problem: the top of my screen will flicker/tear every few seconds and it is quite distracting. I have tried this with multiple distros and it does the same thing, but it does not do this in Windows 10. I am hoping to fix this problem with Linux Mint because I really like the distro.

I read the information on the "how to get help" link and I am posting here (instead of the graphics card forum) because a friend stated that this could be anything, even a power problem (I tried using the laptop on battery power only and the problem still occurred).

Here is the information about my computer:
System: Host: moo-VivoBook-14-ASUS-Laptop-X407MA-X407MA Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64
bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine: Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: VivoBook 14_ASUS Laptop X407MA_X407MA v: 1.0 serial: N/A
Mobo: ASUSTeK model: X407MA v: 1.0 serial: N/A
UEFI: American Megatrends v: X407MA.204 date: 03/07/2018
Battery BAT0: charge: 28.4 Wh 84.6% condition: 33.6/33.2 Wh (101%)
model: ASUSTeK ASUS status: Charging
CPU: Dual core Intel Celeron N4000 (-MCP-) arch: N/A cache: 4096 KB