Developing Applications on Linux

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
SpolanderCJ

Developing Applications on Linux

Post by SpolanderCJ »

I am relatively new to Linux and I would appreciate a definitive answer to this question which I am sure has probably been asked in one form or another before.

I have been using Windows operating systems and developing software on this platform for most of my life.
One of the great things about Windows, is that Microsoft provides you with products like Visual Studio and SQL Server with which you can easily develop applications in a choice of languages which integrate easily with the Windows product.

I recently installed Linux Mint and I must say, that am am very impressed with this Distro of Linux. Really easy to use has a strong Windows feel to it with all the benefits of Linux.

Can someone please point me in the right direction.
I would like to be able to do a similar job in developing simple forms based applications that have a good relational database in the background. (I assume that MySQL would fit the bill here). What choices do I have for development languages and perhaps an IDE.

Many Thanks
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
gm10

Re: Developing Applications on Linux

Post by gm10 »