[SOLVED] Firefox issues - latest update (62.0.3)

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
ZakGordon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:07 am

[SOLVED] Firefox issues - latest update (62.0.3)

Post by ZakGordon »

I had been able to run the previous Firefox (62.0), but after yesterday's (or the day before?) update it just won't launch at all. It starts the process (I can see it in System Monitor) but before any window opens it shuts itself down and the process closes. Anyone else seeing the same issue?

I notice it seems to use quite a bit of RAM, around the1.8GB range before it shuts down,so i wonder if that is part of the problem on my system (a 3GB 32bit system)? Here is my inxi -Fxz output:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: NetSurfer Kernel: 4.4.0-119-generic i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.8.4) 
           Desktop: Gnome Distro: Linux Mint 17.1 Rebecca
Machine:   System: Acer product: TravelMate 5730 version: 0100
           Mobo: Acer model: Homa version: Rev Bios: Phoenix version: V1.34 date: 08/11/2009
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo CPU T6670 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 8779.3 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1200.00 MHz 2: 1200.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0 
           X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1280x800@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Mobile Intel GM45 Express Chipset x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 10.1.3 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card: Intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k4.4.0-119-generic
Network:   Card-1: Intel WiFi Link 5100 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom NetXtreme BCM5764M Gigabit Ethernet PCIe driver: tg3 ver: 3.137 bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (12.7% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD3200BEVT size: 320.1GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 20G used: 5.9G (32%) fs: ext4 ID: /home size: 46G used: 32G (74%) fs: ext4 
RAID:      No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 45.0C mobo: 45.0C 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 172 Uptime: 9 min Memory: 911.8/2957.6MB Runlevel: 2 Gcc sys: 4.8.4 Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.4
Any suggestions and if i wanted to 'roll back' that last Firefox update how would i go about that? Thanks in advance.
Last edited by ZakGordon on Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:42 am, edited 3 times in total.
Laptop overheating? Check link here:itsfoss guide . A move from Cinnamon to XFCE can give a -5 to -10 degrees C change on overheating hardware.

Build a modern dual-boot Ryzen Win7/Linux Mint PC:Tutorial
User avatar
snowflake
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 12:52 pm

Re: Firefox issues - latest update (62.03)

Post by snowflake »

62.03 running just fine here, i suggest trying

Code: Select all

firefox -safe-mode
before thinking of rolling back
its likely that corrupt data in your settings caused the problem if that's the case reinstalling/rolling-back Firefox would not fix it, use the Profile Manager to create a new profile. If the problem goes away, you can then move your bookmarks and other important settings into the new profile.

Code: Select all

firefox --ProfileManager
ProfileManager wont show up if Firefox is open (even if its broken/hidden), so killall firefox first.

Good luck
User avatar
AZgl1500
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4879
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 3:20 am
Location: Oklahoma where the wind comes sweeping down the plains
Contact:

Re: Firefox issues - latest update (62.03)

Post by AZgl1500 »

snowflake wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:27 am
62.03 running just fine here,

Likewise here
Linux Mint 19.3 Cinnamon
Hoser Rob
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6250
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: Firefox issues - latest update (62.03)

Post by Hoser Rob »

What they said. NEVER roll back a browser or any other app requiring net access. You'd be just asking to get hacked.
User avatar
I2k4
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 655
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2012 8:33 pm

Re: Firefox issues - latest update (62.03)

Post by I2k4 »

The update hasn't caused a problem on either my M17.3 hard drive installs or thumb drive testers, which total five updates. Given the described behavior I'd be included to completely uninstall Firefox and reinstall it fresh - hopefully you've set up a Firefox ID that preserves and auto-syncs settings for other machines and new installs - otherwise it would mean recreating your modifications manually.

Note I install or uninstall software using the Synaptic Package Manager instead of the Mint Software Manager - it includes a choice to "Mark for Complete Removal" which I think would delete all Firefox profile and other auxiliary folders and data. Once removed, the current Firefox would be in the current Mint repository as a fresh install, and you'd be able to restore bookmarks, extensions, etc. using the very good Firefox Sync service. Good luck.
TRUST BUT VERIFY any advice from anybody, including me. Mint/Ubuntu user since 10.04 LTS. LM20 64 bit XFCE (Dell 1520). Dual booting LM20 XFCE / Win7 (Lenovo desktop and Acer netbook).
ZakGordon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:07 am

Re: Firefox issues - latest update (62.03)

Post by ZakGordon »

snowflake wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:27 am
i suggest trying

Code: Select all

firefox -safe-mode
OK did that and after got a bunch of stuff like this in the console:

Code: Select all

(firefox:3771): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_ref: assertion 'object->ref_count > 0' failed
Like about 20 odd lines of various stuff with 'failed' at the end, but i did get the pop up to start Firefox in safe mode and it did indeed start. So would that likely mean an issue with one of my add-ons perhaps? In safe mode memory usage is way down (vs what it was in full mode before it crashed!) at around 80MB!

I'll follow the rest of the advice and see what happens. Thanks for the safe mode pointer :)

Edit: ok interesting. I decided to open firefox normally after the safe mode success, and it opened fine, with again very low memory usage vs previously when it was crashing on start up. However when i went to close it it hung and gave an error about my ecosia search engine not responding (force quit or wait). So maybe the original error is related to that? I have ecosia set up as the default search engine, but will switch to duckduckgo and see if i have the same issues.
Laptop overheating? Check link here:itsfoss guide . A move from Cinnamon to XFCE can give a -5 to -10 degrees C change on overheating hardware.

Build a modern dual-boot Ryzen Win7/Linux Mint PC:Tutorial
ZakGordon
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 828
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 11:07 am

Re: Firefox issues - latest update (62.03)

Post by ZakGordon »

snowflake wrote:
Sun Oct 07, 2018 5:27 am
....use the Profile Manager to create a new profile. If the problem goes away, you can then move your bookmarks and other important settings into the new profile.

Code: Select all

firefox --ProfileManager
ProfileManager wont show up if Firefox is open (even if its broken/hidden), so killall firefox first.

Good luck
Thanks that solved the issue. I tried a number of things to save the old profile (like removing add-ons in safe mode etc) but it just would not work. So a new profile as you suggested has Firefox working again, thanks for the advice :)
Laptop overheating? Check link here:itsfoss guide . A move from Cinnamon to XFCE can give a -5 to -10 degrees C change on overheating hardware.

Build a modern dual-boot Ryzen Win7/Linux Mint PC:Tutorial
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”