Page 1 of 1

[SOLVED] How to reset the start menu?

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:14 am
by jitze
Dear all,

I did some manual configuration in the start menu (right click on the start menu, configure, menu editor) and removed some applications I don't use, and also moved some applications to a more relevant category.

However, since I did that, the Files application won't launch. When I click it, the Menu closes, but the Files application doesn't start.

So I chose for the option to revert back to the system settings, but now the files application is gone entirely. Also a new application I installed is not showing up.

Is there a more aggressive way to do a complete reset?

Thanks in advance.

Re: How to reset the start menu?

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:31 am
by Moem
Hello, can you please post the result of the following terminal command, and enclose it in code tags? That's the button marked </>.
This is needed for pretty much any question about your system, so it's a good habit to post it straight away. We do not know which start menu you are working with.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
If you're having trouble doing this, let me know and I'll explain more.

Re: How to reset the start menu?

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 4:34 am
by jitze
I'm sorry, I could have paid some more attention.

Here it is:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: Envy Kernel: 4.15.0-36-generic x86_64 bits: 64 gcc: 7.3.0
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.8.9 (Gtk 3.22.30-1ubuntu1)
           Distro: Linux Mint 19 Tara
Machine:   Device: laptop System: HP product: HP ENVY Laptop 13-ad1xx v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: N/A
           Mobo: HP model: 83A7 v: KBC Version 39.33 serial: N/A
           UEFI: Insyde v: F.18 date: 11/02/2017
Battery    BAT0: charge: 37.2 Wh 72.3% condition: 51.4/51.4 Wh (100%)
           model: HP Primary status: Charging
CPU:       Quad core Intel Core i5-8250U (-MT-MCP-) 
           arch: Kaby Lake rev.10 cache: 6144 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 14400
           clock speeds: max: 3400 MHz 1: 1852 MHz 2: 1856 MHz 3: 1860 MHz
           4: 1871 MHz 5: 1872 MHz 6: 1868 MHz 7: 1844 MHz 8: 1843 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel UHD Graphics 620 bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: x11 (X.Org 1.19.6 )
           drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 2560x1440@59.95hz
           OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel UHD Graphics 620 (Kabylake GT2)
           version: 4.5 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Render: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel Sunrise Point-LP HD Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1f.3
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.15.0-36-generic
Network:   Card: Intel Wireless 7265 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 02:00.0
           IF: wlp2s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 512.1GB (34.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/nvme0n1 model: KXG50ZNV512G_TOSHIBA size: 512.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 363G used: 164G (48%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/nvme0n1p6
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0C mobo: 0.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 258 Uptime: 1:29 Memory: 5211.3/7735.8MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 7.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.191) inxi: 2.3.56 

Re: How to reset the start menu?

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 5:24 am
by Moem
Thanks, that's helpful! I don't use the same version as you do, but now you've given potential helpers something to work with.

Re: How to reset the start menu?

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:02 pm
by smurphos
Can you start nemo (Files) from the terminal - the command is nemo?

What new application is missing from the menu?

Deleting the contents of ~/.local/share/applications followed by using the reset function in the menu editor should cleanly reset the menu to defaults. Back the contents up somewhere else though just in case there is something in there you need. It contains the .desktop files for user customised or added menu entries.

Re: How to reset the start menu?

Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:58 pm
by emiliosm

Re: How to reset the start menu?

Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:13 am
by jitze
smurphos wrote:
Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:02 pm
Can you start nemo (Files) from the terminal - the command is nemo?

What new application is missing from the menu?

Deleting the contents of ~/.local/share/applications followed by using the reset function in the menu editor should cleanly reset the menu to defaults. Back the contents up somewhere else though just in case there is something in there you need. It contains the .desktop files for user customised or added menu entries.
Thanks, problem was solved by deleting the .desktop files.

The application that was not showing up was also one of the .dekstop file together with the Nemo.