no boot option

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
bhola_singh
Level 1
Level 1

no boot option

Post by bhola_singh » Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:08 pm

Hello,

I am new to Linux so thank you for your patience.

I installed Linux mint with the option to completely use the disk and replace Windows 7. It's the latest version of Linux mint with xfce, burned onto a disk with boot option of (Legacy or UEFI) with rufus.

THe installation seems to go fine, however, at the end of the installation I get a message that says something like "Installation is finished, but couldn't install apt packages from the CD". Not sure what this means, since I am using a bootable usb to install this. In any case, when I start the system back up and if it boots from the HD I only see a black screen witha cursor. I can boot back from the USB into the live environment but not directly from HD.

Here is a screenshot of the disk from looks like I don't have boot, swap partitions etc. What do I need to do?

Also, just in case it helps...I decided to replace windows 7 with linux mint because windows was failing to recognize the built in wifi card and also the an external wifi card. Both the internal and external cards work intermittently in windows and when I start the computer I get a error message that says "Failed to loAD wifi module 701". It's an old (2011) HP g60 533 CL laptop, I don't know if the BIOS is an issue here.

It seems the linux mint doesn't recognize the built in card either. I haven't tried the USB wifi adapter on linux yet.

How do I get to boot the sytem into linux?

gm10
Level 12
Level 12

Re: no boot option