Couple of questions from a total newbie coming from Vista...

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Till
Level 1
Level 1

Couple of questions from a total newbie coming from Vista...

Post by Till »

Hallo everyone, glad to be in the Mint forums. I am from Athens, Greece, and this must be my 7th try in the last 14-15 years to migrate to Linux. I've been through older versions of Red Hat, Mandrake, Corel (!) Ubuntu and other Linux distributions, but I always had serious problems, and little time to find solutions, so I always ended up in Windows... Anyway, this is my first try in Linux Mint 7, and it is going great so far (but I am dual booting with Vista, just in case). I really hope this time I will have the patience to stick with the plan (witch is, migrate to Linux 100%). So, although I consider myself as a very experienced Windows user, I am a total noob concering Linux. I feel like I am learning computers from scratch (and this is pretty mutch the case). But Mint 7 looks great, and Compiz is lightyears ahead from Aero...

So to begin with, I have a few newbie questions:

- First of all, I noticed on many Linux distributions a nice short bar on the bottom center of the screen (not the bar where the menu is), with various shortcuts on it. What is the name of this thing, and where can I get it? I would like to have it on my desktop, although I would preffer to have it on the upper side of the screen... And I guess it is customizable, right?