Wine on Mint 19 Cinnamon SOLVED

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
fred19
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Wine on Mint 19 Cinnamon SOLVED

Post by fred19 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:54 am

I am just trying Cinnamon 19 on a new laptop but I can't find Wine in the Software Manager.

It is there on my old KDE setup. Any ideas?

Thanks.
Last edited by fred19 on Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Moem
Level 17
Level 17
Posts: 7217
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Wine Cinnamon 19

Post by Moem » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:18 am

I would install PlayOnLinux and let that pull in Wine, but if that's a bad idea, I'm sure someone here will be able to point you to a better way.
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

gm10
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4620
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 5:11 pm

Re: Wine Cinnamon 19

Post by gm10 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:33 am

fred19 wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 4:54 am
I am just trying Cinnamon 19 on a new laptop but I can't find Wine in the Software Manager.
Among the many shortcomings of Software Manager is a problematic search function. To install Wine, search for wine-stable or wine-development. If you went with Moem's suggestion it would install the latter.

fred19
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Wine Cinnamon 19

Post by fred19 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 7:51 am

Thanks for the replies, I have tried both solutions but still haven't got anywhere. I couldn't really get my head round PlayOnLinux so I downloaded Wine and Winetricks but I can't get that in work.

In my old KDE setup If I right click on an .exe program there is an option to open with Wine Windows Program Loader, dead easy. Is that only in KDE?

User avatar
pbear
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Wine Cinnamon 19

Post by pbear » Fri Nov 09, 2018 12:57 pm

Sounds like you skipped a couple steps. If yours is a 64 bit machine, you need to run sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386. In any event, you need to run winecfg before Wine will let you install any Windows apps. These aren't new, by the way, but it's been a while since you did this last time.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
Running Mate 18.3 64 bit (by upgrade from 18.1-2)

fred19
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Wine Cinnamon 19

Post by fred19 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 4:11 pm

Thanks for all your help but I have given up on this one and wiped Cinnamon and loaded the last version of KDE.

I have a standalone .exe program and a 32bit version of Picasa both of which I need and I tried all way to get them to run. I found a tutorial on Play with Linux it kept saying "Wine has crashed, and Picasa eventually installed but won't work. Running "sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386" didn't do anything

With KDE I installed the 32bit files and Picasa installed direct from the .deb file. Wine was in the Software Manager and my .exe program ran with a right click on "open with Wine Windows Program Loader"

In actual fact I still prefer KDE and it is nice to get Recent Applications and full height sub menus in the Start menu back.

User avatar
trytip
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2496
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: Wine Cinnamon 19

Post by trytip » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:07 pm

you need to start with a 32bit .wine folder if your application is 32bit (if you have a .wine folder you can rename it and run this command to test a 32bit version of wine)

Code: Select all

WINEARCH=win32 WINEPREFIX=~/.wine winecfg
Image

User avatar
karlchen
Level 19
Level 19
Posts: 9513
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: Wine on Mint 19 Cinnamon

Post by karlchen » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:29 pm

Why is everybody telling that installing Wine on a 64-bit Mint 19 Cinnamon or no Cinnamon were so damned complicated?
Why then the simple way, explained here, Installing Wine in Mint 19, works for me on 64-bit?
karlchen wrote:Only today, I set up a new Mate system and installed Wine 3.0 from the official Ubuntu software repositories on it.
The only package which I actively selected in Synaptic Package Manager for installation was: wine-stable (3.0-1ubuntu1)
wine-stable (3.0-1ubuntu1) pulled in a sheer endless list of dependent software packages.
Nonetheless the installation went smoothly, without any problems; and Wine 3.0 works as expected.
Image
Linux Mint 18.1 64-bit Cinnamon Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 64-bit
Ubuntu 18.04.1 32-bit Mate Desktop, Total Commander 9.21a 32-bit
Windows? - 1 window in every room

fred19
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Wine on Mint 19 Cinnamon

Post by fred19 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:08 pm

Wow, I don't believe it, finally get there. Although I have gone back to Kde it bugged me that I couldn't run Picasa on Cinnamon and one day I might have to move over to it. Picasa is far and away the best program for viewing and sorting images and I would hate to lose it.

I decided to give up on the .deb file and try the .exe.

Did a new install of Cinnamon them ran,
sudo apt-get install wine-stable
then,
sudo apt-get install wine32
then right clicked on the Downloads folder, where the .exe folder was located, and run in Terminal
then
wine picasa.exe

And it installed and worked. In the end very simple and I am a happy bunny. Even managed to get my standalone .exe file to run with "wine file name.exe

fred19
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 173
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Wine on Mint 19 Cinnamon SOLVED

Post by fred19 » Mon Nov 19, 2018 5:11 pm

Just a further heads up. when I installed Wine and Wine32 there wasn't an icon anywhere in the Start menu. After installing Picasa with the terminal Wine appeared in the Start menu and Picasa in the sub menu.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”