Windows Network folder is empty

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Roxxi
Level 1
Level 1

Windows Network folder is empty

Post by Roxxi » Tue Nov 13, 2018 3:34 pm

Hi, I am new to Linux and finally decided to ditch Microsoft and take the plunge. However, I can not get my new Linux Mint machine to work with the rest of our home LAN. We have 4 computers (all Windows10), 1 printer and 1 scanner on our local LAN, but I can't see any of them on my mint machine. A friend warned me before saying that Linux is only for geeks ... I'd like to prove him wrong. Can anybody help me to solve this problem? FYI I am running the Cinnamon 32 bit version of Linux Mint 19. BTW, the laptop where I installed the new Linux was running Windows10 before and connected fine to the rest of our home LAN.

altair4
Level 19
Level 19

Re: Windows Network folder is empty

Post by altair4 » Tue Nov 13, 2018 4:12 pm

Your friend was right. Linux is just for geeks.

Anyhoo ..... you have a dilemma when it comes to Win10. Samba made some shages to how the client works - becasue of WIn10 ironically enough - that inadvertently disabled it's ability to "discover" Windows hosts using netbios.

This is explained here: Mint 19 and Samba File Sharing Changes

The dilemma you have with Win10 is if you fix the "discovery" problem you won't be able to access it - if you allowed Wind10 to disable smbv1 which it will do on it's own.
Please add a [SOLVED] at the end of your original subject header if your question has been answered and solved.

Tomgin5
Level 5
Level 5

Post by Tomgin5 » Tue Nov 13, 2018 5:07 pm