[SOLVED] Could not refresh list of updates

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
illy1WFR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:54 pm

[SOLVED] Could not refresh list of updates

Post by illy1WFR » Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:05 pm

Hi all
my first proper post, so I'm old a noob and dyslexic not got a lot going for me have I. Tonight I have clicked on some updates on Linux mint 19 I am left with a red cross in the update shield and when I hang my mouse pointer over the shield this message pops up

the repository 'cdrom://LinuxMint 19 _Tara _-Release amd64 20180717 bionic Releace' does not have a Release file.

I would also add that the computer locks up about 5seconds after shut down is initiated and I have to complete the process by holding down the power button.

Could some kind person shove me in the right direction to rectify :?: :oops:

Thanks
Tony
Last edited by Moem on Sat Nov 17, 2018 4:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked this as [SOLVED] for you; please note that you can and should do this for your own topics. Thanks!

User avatar
Lord Boltar
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:24 pm

Re: Could not refresh list of updates

Post by Lord Boltar » Fri Nov 16, 2018 5:16 pm

Go to your Software Sources then click on the PPA tab and uncheck cdrom://LinuxMint 19 then reload should fix it
IF your problem has been solved, please edit your original post and add [SOLVED] to the beginning of the Subject Line. It helps other members

The only way for evil to prosper is for good men to do nothing

illy1WFR
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:54 pm

Re: Could not refresh list of updates

Post by illy1WFR » Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:34 pm

Ok clicked on PPAs but that window is empty

Additional repositories blow PPAs has a CD ROM (installation disk) checked, so I unchecked that and refreshed, that has put the check mark back on the update shield, seems ok. :?

Thanks for your input Lord

Tony

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”