3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
pisikoala
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:31 pm

3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by pisikoala » Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:53 pm

Hello, Merry Christmas!
I have a 3Tb external HDD, Seagate GoFlexHome, that i previously installed on a windows network`s router, using it`s own cd software (4 years ago). Meanwhile we gave up on windows, installed LinuxMint on all the computers in the house. The HDD kept working on the network, has a lot of important data as backup from all our computers. I moved away, now i need to connect it just to my laptop (no network, just by USB) wich runs on LinuxMint 18 Cinnamon 32bit. I have no idea how to do it, i just know what the terminal is and how to follow the instructions, can you please help me? What do I have to do to make the laptop "see" the external HDD when i need to copy or write data?

deepakdeshp
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5245
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by deepakdeshp » Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:18 pm

Isn't the disk automatically detected once you connect it? If not then do the following.
Please post outputs of the 2 commands in code tags.

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxz
 lsusb
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
I am using Mint 19.1 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

pisikoala
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:31 pm

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by pisikoala » Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:25 pm

First command returned this:

Code: Select all

mia@mia-K53U ~ $ inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: mia-K53U Kernel: 4.4.0-135-generic i686 (32 bit gcc: 5.4.0)
           Desktop: Cinnamon 3.0.7 (Gtk 3.18.9-1ubuntu3.3)
           Distro: Linux Mint 18 Sarah
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: K53U v: 1.0
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 223 date: 04/10/2012
CPU:       Dual core AMD C-60 APU with Radeon HD Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips: 3991
           clock speeds: max: 1000 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Wrestler [Radeon HD 6290]
           bus-ID: 00:01.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.18.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@59.99hz
           GLX Renderer: AMD PALM (DRM 2.43.0 / 4.4.0-135-generic, LLVM 6.0.0)
           GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 18.0.5 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card-1 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Wrestler HDMI Audio
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:01.1
           Card-2 Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:14.2
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.4.0-135-generic
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
           driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: e000 bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: enp3s0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k bus-ID: 04:00.0
           IF: wlp4s0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (68.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST9320325AS size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 292G used: 203G (74%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 1.72GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda5
RAID:      No RAID devices: /proc/mdstat, md_mod kernel module present
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 58.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 58.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 161 Uptime: 1:59 Memory: 483.0/1610.0MB
           Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 5.4.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.3.481) inxi: 2.2.35 
Second:

Code: Select all

Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 04f2:b23b Chicony Electronics Co., Ltd 
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 004 Device 003: ID 10c4:8105 Cygnal Integrated Products, Inc. 
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

pisikoala
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:31 pm

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by pisikoala » Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:27 pm

Thank you for helping me, it doesn`t show up not even in the "drives" section when i plug it in (the usb sticks are recognised and appear when plugged)

User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8806
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by phd21 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 3:49 pm

Hi pisikoala,

Merry Christmas to you as well.

Welcome to the wonderful world of Linux Mint and its excellent forum!

You installed a 32-bit Linux Mint on a 64-bit computer. You might seriously consider downloading and installing a 64-bit Linux Mint 18.3 after backing up anything you want to keep. Since you only have a small amount of system memory (ram), I would recommend Linux Mint Mate or Xfce (64-bit) which uses less system resources than the Cinnamon version, but you can stick with Cinnamon as well. If your computer supports installing more system memory, get some, every bit helps (pun intended).

If there are any drives and their partitions that you want to automatically mount and be available then read the post below. Of course, the drive has to be recognized by your Linux system first.

NTFS Partition does not activate even with automount, until clicking drive in file manager - Linux Mint Forums
viewtopic.php?f=208&t=278971&p=1535140#p1535140

With the drive attached, run the command below and post the results:

Code: Select all

lsblk -f
It could be the drive is using a filesystem that you have not yet installed the drivers for like "exFAT". You can search the "Synaptic Package Manager (SPM)" for "exfat" and install related packages "exfat-fuse" and "exfat-utils" and restart computer... Even If the drive had a Mac OS filesystem Linux could read those too, just install "hfsutils" and reboot.

Or, It could be that for whatever reasons the external drive's filesystem is corrupted in some way and thus not being recognized. In this case, booting to a CD/DVD disc or USB stick with a partition manager like "Minitool Partition Wizard" (NTFS, Fat32, exFAT, etc...) or "GParted Live" (Fat32, Linux ext4, NTFS, etc...) and checking the drive and its partitions for errors and repairing that would help.

Hope this helps ...
Last edited by phd21 on Tue Dec 25, 2018 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

jglen490
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 526
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by jglen490 » Tue Dec 25, 2018 7:42 pm

Not to question phd21, but would you show the results of

Code: Select all

sudo inxi -m
A 32 bit OS is not a bad thing, and a 64 bit OS is not always needed, either. The principle limitation of a 32 bit OS is that it will only address a max of 4GB of RAM - even if more is present.

The really important thing is to figure out what the USB drive is doing while it is being attached. So make sure it is not attached, and have a terminal open. Attach the USB drive connector and then enter the following in the terminal

Code: Select all

dmesg
And post the results back here.
I feel more like I do than I did when I got here.
Toshiba A135-S2386, Intel T2080, ATI Radeon® Xpress 200M Chipset, 2GB RAM, 500GB

pisikoala
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:31 pm

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by pisikoala » Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:13 am

Hello, so i`m back, installed LinuxMint19 Cinnamon on 64bit (tried 17 with KDE but it is way too different for me and the simple things i need the laptop for :D )
Thanks, phd21, here are the results:

Code: Select all

lsblk -f
returned this:

Code: Select all

~$ lsblk -f
NAME   FSTYPE LABEL UUID                                 MOUNTPOINT
sda                                                      
└─sda1 ext4         4f3209ee-9777-4804-b10a-c3c7e1f0db86 /
sr0                        
Thanks, jglen490, here is what i got:

Code: Select all

sudo inxi -m
returned this

Code: Select all

[sudo] password for mia:         
Memory:
  RAM: total: 1.56 GiB used: 886.6 MiB (55.6%) 
  Array-1: capacity: 2 GiB slots: 2 EC: None 
  Device-1: A1_DIMM0 size: No Module Installed 
  Device-2: A1_DIMM1 size: 2 GiB speed: 800 MT/s 
Aand the second command, gosh, it is like 10 pages, i selected a few lines cuz i am not allowed to use that many characters

Code: Select all

[    4.600096] usb 5-1: new low-speed USB device number 2 using ohci-pci
[    4.617850] usb 1-3: New USB device found, idVendor=04f2, idProduct=b23b
[    4.617860] usb 1-3: New USB device strings: Mfr=3, Product=1, SerialNumber=2
[    4.617865] usb 1-3: Product: Chicony CNFA078
[    4.617870] usb 1-3: Manufacturer: Chicony
[    4.617875] usb 1-3: SerialNumber: 0x0001
[    4.806307] usb 5-1: New USB device found, idVendor=10c4, idProduct=8105
[    4.806316] usb 5-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=0
[    4.806321] usb 5-1: Product: USB OPTICAL MOUSE
[    4.806326] usb 5-1: Manufacturer: YSPRINGTECH
I am starting the update manager now, i hope it will solve something

pisikoala
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:31 pm

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by pisikoala » Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:07 pm

Updates done, installed hsfutils, synaptic package, restarted, still nothing :(
Regarding a partition tool, how can i add it to the bootable stick?

Later edit: Would it be possible to connect the external HDD to the laptop using the Lan cable? (i`m using only wireless for the internet) :lol:
I know i`m probably the newbiest newbie, but i`m a woman and not that young anymore, have mercy and patience with me please :)
Last edited by pisikoala on Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
phd21
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8806
Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2014 9:42 pm
Location: Florida

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by phd21 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:18 pm

Hi pisikoala,

Did you install the exFAT packages and restart? The "hsfutils" are for Mac OS filesystems. Your system is not recognizing the external drive from the results of the commands.
Phd21: Mint KDE 18.3 & 19, 64-bit Awesome OS, Ancient Dell OptiPlex 780 Core2Duo E8400 3GHz,4gb Ram,256gb SDD, Video: Intel 4 Graphics, DVD Lightscribe. Why I use KDE?:https://opensource.com/life/15/4/9-reasons-to-use-kde

pisikoala
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Dec 25, 2018 2:31 pm

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by pisikoala » Sat Dec 29, 2018 11:59 pm

Hello,
I read the hard drive`s manual from top to bottom, and it cannot be connected via USB (the usb is just for printer or for another hard drive or stick). I`m sorry i didn`t know this from the beggining.
Somewhere it was written that it can be connected directly to a computer with the LAN cable, without a router, with his software, windows and mac only.
Any ideas, please?

User avatar
vansloneker
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 500
Joined: Sat Mar 17, 2018 6:10 am

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by vansloneker » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:47 am

http://tech4tea.com/blog/2011/09/26/set ... age-system

The Seagate GoFlexHome is a little single disk NAS.


Not sure if you used it but GoFlex Home - Remote Access Shutdown.
You should be able to continue to use it on your home network though: http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/e ... cale=en-us

An article on directly connecting the GoFlexHome with an ethernet network cable: http://knowledge.seagate.com/articles/e ... cale=en-us
Unless stated otherwise Mint 18.3-64 XFCE

===============================================================================================================================Image

User avatar
kato181
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:33 am
Location: Frederickton NSW

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by kato181 » Sun Dec 30, 2018 12:58 am

hi pisikoala,
You don't say if it is a usb external drives or not. If it is then your computer should detect it.
i have 2 external hd's and they are both usb and all my mint computers detect them.

Have you updated the firmware for it?

Ok i just went to seagate webpage and read the destructions... Your drive is NOT usb and cannot be connected directly to a computer. It can only be connected to a modem/router with more than one port. Seagate have NO linux drivers for your product...That is weird as they say they support ALL O/S's. How old is your drive?

They class your drive as a NAS drive, so the same principles would apply to installing it would be the same as installing a NAS drive.
You don't say what brand of laptop you have or whether it has ethernet port connection, if so then the following should work. If that doesn't work then you will have to connect it directly to the usb connection on the rear of the modem/router, providing that has that facility.

Make sure your unit is powered off before you do the following..
If you have a 4 port router/modem then you connect the ethernet cable into the rear of your drive, and the other end into your modem/router then power on then follow the installation instructions.

try this link: viewtopic.php?t=91873
or this one
viewtopic.php?t=219890

Below is the link to the onsite manual.
https://www.seagate.com/www-content/sup ... 0Guide.pdf
hope this helps you.
good luck
Last edited by kato181 on Mon Dec 31, 2018 7:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Charlie
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 321
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 10:09 am
Location: Eng-er-land

Re: 3Tb GoFlexHome on USB

Post by Charlie » Mon Dec 31, 2018 8:42 am

I had the same problem with a 3TB drive. I had to format it in Windows to get it recognised. It was a while ago and my first experience of this problem but I formatted the drive into GPT I think rather than MBR. That solved it. Took me ages too, almost sent it back. I had no experience of drives larger than 2TB and was blissfully unaware of any potential problem. I did this in the Windows disk management console I think. The place where the drives are listed.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”