programs not remembering their window position?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
psklenar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:30 pm

programs not remembering their window position?

Post by psklenar »

I've tried several searches and haven't found anyone mentioning the same issue, so i apologize if my search-fu is off today and I'm missing something.

I'm wondering why some applications, not all, always start centered in the screen instead of where they were when I last closed them? For example I like to have Thunderbird in the lower right corner of my monitor and Chrome in the upper left. Chrome remembers this and opens in the upper left but Thunderbird always opens centered in the screen.

Thunderbird behaves as I expect under Windows 10 (via dual boot) and Win7 (via VMWare VM).

Am I missing something obvious?
pat----
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: programs not remembering their window position?

Post by rickNS »

Pat hi,
Yeah your search-fu is a little off today.
have a look here; viewtopic.php?t=281542
It somewhat depends on which DE your running.
I don't remember if it came up in that thread, but it is also possible with wmctrl command. man or google that, although if you had to go that route it would be easier to just move the window with mouse manually.

Also, and I can't remember right now, there is a setting somewhere that gives you an option of opening new windows <centered> or <smartly placed>
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2488
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: programs not remembering their window position?

Post by absque fenestris »

instead of where they were when I last closed them

Well - MacOS/OSX has been doing that for decades - and they have been attacked or laughed at again and again.

The idea is not bad - the last window size and position is stored in an invisible entry.
Unfortunately this entry is visible under Windows or Linux (.ds) - and as a Mac user you get questions... :mrgreen:
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (MATE) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook
Linux Mint 20 Ulyana (Cinnamon) 64-bit - Huawei MateBook X Pro
psklenar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:30 pm

Re: programs not remembering their window position?

Post by psklenar »

rickNS wrote:
Mon Feb 04, 2019 7:47 pm
Pat hi,
Yeah your search-fu is a little off today.
have a look here; viewtopic.php?t=281542
Thank you very much rickNS!
pat----
rickNS
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 852
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:59 pm

Re: programs not remembering their window position?

Post by rickNS »

thanks Pat,
But please remember to mark your own thread as "SOLVED"

As such, which\what method did solve your "problem" ?
Mint 19.0 mate on 2 identical Thinkpad T420's
psklenar
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Jan 06, 2019 2:30 pm

Re: programs not remembering their window position?

Post by psklenar »

rickNS wrote:
Tue Feb 05, 2019 9:33 am
thanks Pat,
But please remember to mark your own thread as "SOLVED"

As such, which\what method did solve your "problem" ?
None of them yet. :)
At least Automatic doesn't simply stack them all on top of one another, but i don't really like it. Works's been keeping me busy. maybe I'll have time to play this weekend. <fingers crossed>

G'night,
pat----
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”