Getting Epson Perfection V370 Scanner fully working under Mint 19.1 MATE?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
darkstrike
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 438
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 5:56 am
Location: Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia, Canada

Getting Epson Perfection V370 Scanner fully working under Mint 19.1 MATE?

Post by darkstrike » Sun Feb 10, 2019 3:55 pm

Hi all - trying to help a lady set up her new Epson Perfection V370 scanner under Mint MATE 19.1 64-bit. I've done all of the following and reached a point where all scanning programs will recognized the scanner and successfully scan from the scanner's flatbed, but we receive errors when we try to scan from the scanner's top slide/film negatives 'Transparency Unit'. As she chiefly wants this scanner to be able to scan a large collection of old film negatives, having only the flatbed functioning is useless to her.

To date, to get to where I am now with ONLY the flatbed scanner portion working, I have done the following:

1. Just downloading and installing the correct Epson-provided drivers from here: http://download.ebz.epson.net/dsc/searc ... ch/?OSC=LX
...did not work.

2. I also installed everything to do with SANE from the Package Manager in case something important was missing.

3. I installed the Xsane scanning program as well (Simple Scan is already installed and Epson's Image Scan software was installed in Step 1).

4. I ran this Terminal command:

Code: Select all

sudo ln -sfr /usr/lib/sane/libsane-epkowa* /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/sane
...found here: viewtopic.php?p=1498713#p1498713 I also created a '/etc/udev/rules.d/79-udev-epson.rules'
file with the contents:

Code: Select all

# chmod device EPSON group
ATTRS{manufacturer}=="EPSON", DRIVERS=="usb", SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ATTRS{idVendor}=="04b8", ATTRS{idProduct}=="*", MODE="0777"
...as described there as well.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I'm not sure what else to try. Anybody have any ideas how to get the Transparency Unit to work for slides / film under Linux?

PaulinQueanbeyan
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: Getting Epson Perfection V370 Scanner fully working under Mint 19.1 MATE?

Post by PaulinQueanbeyan » Wed Sep 18, 2019 10:40 pm

Hello

Have a look at this video. It is very long winded but worked for me the first time. I installed a new HDD and cannot get it to work a second time


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8q82X7PpRaQ

Paul

deepakdeshp
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5813
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Getting Epson Perfection V370 Scanner fully working under Mint 19.1 MATE?

Post by deepakdeshp » Thu Sep 19, 2019 2:03 am

Is the scanner issue solved?
For disk create a separate thread.
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.2 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

User avatar
kato181
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 372
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:33 am
Location: Frederickton NSW

Re: Getting Epson Perfection V370 Scanner fully working under Mint 19.1 MATE?

Post by kato181 » Fri Sep 20, 2019 12:54 am

Tranparency and the scanning of negatives under linux using scan will not work.
I too had the same desire to scan old negatives of parents parents under linux and nothing worked, that is the one let down.
However, I purchased Vuescan Pro and BANG, it worked I have now finished scanning all my neg's and old photos. The pro version is expensive, but it will do the job you want it to do. I'm glad I purchased it, now I can shrink, and crop. The good thing about vuescan pro is that it's a one off cost and licensed for four (4) computers.
good luck

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”