connect to windows network

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
tmitch06905

connect to windows network

Post by tmitch06905 »

I am a linux newbie. I apologize if this has been asked before, but I can't find it. I have a Windows 10 desktop and 2 Windows laptops all wi fi networked together so I know the Windows file sharing is good. The network name is Vision. The desktop name is Vision. The files I need to access are located in Vision/users. I installed Mint Mate on a third laptop. I made desktop, documents, photos, etc. in Mint all shared folders. I installed samba. I edited the line workgrooup = workgroup to read workgroup = vision. When that got me nowhere I edited it to read workgroup = vision/users.. Not sure which is correct but I still cannot see the windows desktop named vision. Can you please explain to me what to do. Thank you very much for your response
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Topic automatically closed 6 months after creation. New replies are no longer allowed.
ralplpcr
Level 6
Level 6

Re: connect to windows network

Post by ralplpcr »

Can your Windows machines "see" your Linux system? If so, then can you detail how are you trying to view the Windows machines from Linux?

I've left my home network as "WORKGROUP", and am able to get to both Linux & Windows machines without much difficulty. From my file manager, I simply type smb://<machine name>/<share name> to quickly find & mount the network share.