Page 1 of 1

Gloria cannot detect second hard drive on desktop PC

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 4:31 pm
by koos
Hi,

Earlier today i installed Gloria on my brothers desktop PC and everything is running great. However, with XP which he previously had installed, he had a 250GB C drive and a backup drive of somewhere over 150GB. Once Mint 7 was installed and we checked the Disk Usage Analyzer it says that total file system capacity is 182GB. Any idea what the problem is? or how we can get Gloria to utilize the other HDD?

Thanks!

Re: Gloria cannot detect second hard drive on desktop PC

Posted: Fri Jul 10, 2009 6:46 pm
by lagagnon
Open a terminal and post here the output of :

sudo fdisk -l
df -h

so we can help you out. With no data provided we can't do anything for you...

Re: Gloria cannot detect second hard drive on desktop PC

Posted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 6:59 am
by koos
sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc8afc8af

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 24136 193872388+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 24137 24321 1486012+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 24137 24321 1485981 82 Linux swap / Solaris

df -h
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1 182G 2.8G 171G 2% /
tmpfs 249M 0 249M 0% /lib/init/rw
varrun 249M 312K 249M 1% /var/run
varlock 249M 0 249M 0% /var/lock
udev 249M 184K 249M 1% /dev
tmpfs 249M 112K 249M 1% /dev/shm
lrm 249M 2.4M 247M 1% /lib/modules/2.6.28-11-generic/volatile

Thanks

Re: Gloria cannot detect second hard drive on desktop PC

Posted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 9:58 am
by lagagnon
fdisk shows that there is only ONE hard drive detectable, with a size of 200GB (fdisk is never wrong). So if your brother really does have two hard drives in that computer then:

1) the BIOS setup is incorrect
2) the cables to the drive have become disconnected
3) the slave/master jumpers on the drives are set incorrectly, or
4) the second hard drive is dead.

Re: Gloria cannot detect second hard drive on desktop PC

Posted: Sat Jul 11, 2009 10:46 am
by koos
Well I shall relay the message, thanks for your help lagagnon.