[SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
drpeppercan
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

[SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

Post by drpeppercan »

I found this Gimp plugin I need to use (Export Layers). I need to move its files to the Plugins directory of Gimp. But while I was trying I lost it somehow. Below shows the 2nd time.

Code: Select all

/var/lib/flatpak$ sudo mv export_layers/ /app/
drpeppercan@Nitro:/var/lib/flatpak$ cd app
drpeppercan@Nitro:/var/lib/flatpak/app$ ls
org.gimp.GIMP
drpeppercan@Nitro:/var/lib/flatpak/app$ ls -a
.  ..  org.gimp.GIMP
Can anyone enlighten me please?

Thanks
Last edited by Moem on Thu Apr 04, 2019 3:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Marked this as [SOLVED] for you; please note that you can and should do this for your own topics. Thanks!
User avatar
karlchen
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 12819
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 7:21 am
Location: Germany

Re: I lost a directory, twice!

Post by karlchen »

You renamed the directory to /app, which is a sub-directory of the root directory /
Or if the directory /app already existed, then the command moved export_layers into the directory /app
sudo mv export_layers/ /app

What you really wanted to do, however, was this:
sudo mv export_layers/ app/
Image
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit Cinnamon, Total Commander 9.51 64-bit
Haß gleicht einer Krankheit, dem Miserere, wo man vorne herausgibt, was eigentlich hinten wegsollte. (Goethe)
User avatar
drpeppercan
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: I lost a directory, twice!

Post by drpeppercan »

Ok.
But, if I did rename the export_layers dir to app, then why the app dir still has the same contents as it did before? (org.gimp.GIMP)
Also, if I did move the export_layers dir into the app dir, why the app only contains the same ONE dir it contained before: org.gimp.GIMP ?

I'll try your suggestion though...

Thanks
User avatar
drpeppercan
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: I lost a directory, twice!

Post by drpeppercan »

It worked!
And I can see the plug in too! I wasn't too sure I am was moving the files to the right location actually.

Thanks a bunch karlchen :)
User avatar
drpeppercan
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: [SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

Post by drpeppercan »

Actually, yesterday you said something about replacing a directory...
I guess I did ☹️. Because now LM refuses to load. On a black screen it says:

Code: Select all

/usr/lib/ubuntu-release-upgrader/release-upgrade-motd: 39: /usr/lib/ubuntu-release-upgrader/release-upgrade-motd: cannot create /var/lib/ubuntu-release-upgrader/release-upgrade-available: Read-only file system
mktemp: failed to make file via template '/var/lib/update-notifier/top.xxxxxxxx' : Read-only file system
There was a bit more code but I suppose you get the idea.

What should be my next step now?
User avatar
drpeppercan
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: [SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

Post by drpeppercan »

I rebooted.
Now it says:

Code: Select all

fsck exited with status code 4
done.
Failure: File system check of the root filesystem failed
The root filesystem on /Dec/sda6 requires a manual fsck
Which I did, but:

Code: Select all

(initramfs) fsck
fsck from util-linux 2.31.1
(initramfs)
That's it ☹️
AscLinux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: [SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

Post by AscLinux »

Filesystems will be mounted read-only in case there is corruption or the "dirty bit" is set. You could remount read-write and ignore the issue - not a good idea, though. I'd certainly investigate why it is mounted read-only. It may hint there is an hardware issue - and this is something that will come and bite you if left unattended.

Edit: you better boot from an external media to run fsck. And investigate why this is happening. Perhaps the drive is dying.
User avatar
drpeppercan
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: [SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

Post by drpeppercan »

Ok.
I'm trying to use the Back Tool now.
But I can't recall where I'm saving the backups. What the backup files look like?

It better not be because the HD is dying, it's a brand new pc!

I thought that it was a big coincidence that just yesterday when I was trying to copy that Gimp plugin and I lost it a couple of times in the /var/lib/ directory. And now the message mentions that directory.
AscLinux
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: [SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

Post by AscLinux »

FYI hard drives die when they are new sometimes. Usually, when they last more than a few weeks without bad sector count building up they last for years. Thus, I'd run smartctl long test on it and then look at bad sector count afterwards, also pending relocations count.
User avatar
drpeppercan
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:10 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: [SOLVED] I lost a directory, twice!

Post by drpeppercan »

So, fsck did the trick! From a live USB drive with LM.
Now I just need to find out how to fix the internet connection that the latest kernel update broke :(
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”