Flatbed scanner SOLVED

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
fred19
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Flatbed scanner SOLVED

Post by fred19 »

Could any kind person tell me is this scanner will work on Mint KDE 18.3

Canon Flatbed Scanner F915900 CANOSCAN LiDE 30

Thank you.
Last edited by fred19 on Wed Jul 03, 2019 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
absque fenestris
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2109
Joined: Sat Nov 12, 2016 8:42 pm
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica

Re: Flatbed scanner

Post by absque fenestris »

If nothing works, you can try Vuescan (for Linux).

https://www.hamrick.com/vuescan/canon_l ... nformation

Image
Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia (Mate) 32-bit - Acer D250 Netbook (Intel Atom N270, 2 GB RAM, 120 GB SSD)
Linux Mint 17.3 Rosa (Mate) 64-bit - MacBook Pro 15" (Intel Core2 Duo, 8 GB RAM, 240 GB SSD) - with some separation difficulties...

fred19
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Flatbed scanner

Post by fred19 »

Thanks for the reply.

I don't do many scans so I didn't want to go to the expense of VueScan.

Are there any other cheap scanners that would work straight off? I only need to do documents.

RIH
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 583
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2015 3:47 am

Re: Flatbed scanner

Post by RIH »

I have the Lide 110 & it works OK, straight out the box, with the Mint included Simple Scan.
However, Xsane (available through Software Manager) gives a great deal more control & a much better end product after a bit of playing around with the settings..
Host: bob-Aspire-TC-705 Kernel: 4.15.0-101-generic x86_64 bits: 64
compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.4.8
Distro: Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic

oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 457
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: Flatbed scanner

Post by oldgranola »

I have a similar but older cannon scanner. Could no longer get an ms windows driver for it so became useless. Once I started with linux Mint using Xsane (install from package manager is simplest) it worked wonderfully. Can import from GIMP, Inkscape as well if you configure (almost automatic) to use xsane. Give it a go!
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob

fred19
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Flatbed scanner

Post by fred19 »

Thank you all.

I have bought a Lide 110 off Ebay so will see what happens.

User avatar
Moem
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11065
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 9:14 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Flatbed scanner

Post by Moem »

RIH wrote:
Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:33 am
I have the Lide 110 & it works OK, straight out the box, with the Mint included Simple Scan.
Seconded. It works fine here. Plug&play! :D
Image

If your issue is solved, kindly indicate that by editing the first post in the topic, and adding [SOLVED] to the title. Thanks!

fred19
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 206
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:05 pm

Re: Flatbed scanner

Post by fred19 »

At last, got one off Ebay at a good price and it works fine. SOLVED

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”