How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by oldgranola »

Hello,
I have a pesky external eSATA III external box (2x drive in RAID1 mode) that keeps going to sleep. I'm working on that bit. My question here is, how do I get LM 19.1 cinnamon to see it once I've woken it up again? I can pull the plug or just hit the on and off button but LM just won't reconnect. I have to reboot the computer then reboot the external box. That kind of looks like a bios issue but even while rebooting the computer and looking at bios I don't see the SATA slot occupied, yet then if I restart the box then LM can see and connect to it. Its just that once it goes to sleep, then the only way I can get it connected is to reboot. I've been over at the hardware section of this forum but I never ever get any response.

Is there anything I can do on the linux side to permanently mount it (even if asleep) so that once woken, it will be seen an recognized? Any config files or systemd, or grub files I can add a line to perma mount it? I know anything I do in $ hdparm like turning off advanced energy management go away after reboot.

Here's a look at the hardware while the external drive is connected, multiple command outputs shown. The external drive is /dev/sdf on slot ata4, the OS is on /dev/sda on ata1:

Code: Select all

fun@fun2:~$ lsblk
NAME   MAJ:MIN RM   SIZE RO TYPE MOUNTPOINT
sda      8:0    0 465.8G  0 disk 
├─sda1   8:1    0   512M  0 part 
├─sda2   8:2    0 122.5G  0 part 
├─sda3   8:3    0   3.2G  0 part 
├─sda4   8:4    0     1M  0 part 
└─sda5   8:5    0   222G  0 part /
sdf      8:80   0 931.5G  0 disk 
sr0     11:0    1  1024M  0 rom  

fun@fun2:~$ 
<pre>$ sudo fdisk -l
<b>Disk /dev/sda: 465.8 GiB, 500107862016 bytes, 976773168 sectors</b>
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disklabel type: gpt
Disk identifier: 6528D7B8-28B4-4C75-ACB9-19DF5EFFB030

<b>Device</b>     <b>    Start</b> <b>      End</b> <b>  Sectors</b> <b>  Size</b> <b>Type</b>
/dev/sda1       2048   1050623   1048576   512M EFI System
/dev/sda2    1050624 257880063 256829440 122.5G Linux filesystem
/dev/sda3  970078208 976771071   6692864   3.2G Linux swap
/dev/sda4  504641536 504643583      2048     1M BIOS boot
/dev/sda5  504643584 970078207 465434624   222G Linux filesystem

Partition table entries are not in disk order.
<b>Disk /dev/sdf: 931.5 GiB, 1000156954624 bytes, 1953431552 sectors</b>
Units: sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
</pre>

$ sudo blkid
/dev/sda1: UUID="12A2-E190" TYPE="vfat" PARTUUID="3716e8bd-7176-4c67-a62c-e1af19bc2333"
/dev/sda2: UUID="0251423c-6938-4ec5-8237-3bb7714837ab" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="4bb430c2-81c3-4c4e-ad20-bb5033cb299f"
/dev/sda3: UUID="e7ae45bc-3d3b-4ce0-a375-674ecb5059b7" TYPE="swap" PARTUUID="1851f0c3-a566-480a-85e7-c119cee2ae94"
/dev/sda5: UUID="8eea86f8-3f45-4a10-9bad-1361e2045b3d" TYPE="ext4" PARTUUID="f8822ae1-6337-4b31-bdc1-9150f3646d0a"
/dev/sdf: LABEL="Fun RAID" UUID="cd56cea7-6cb1-41a1-9c2d-72ba1a0f2811" TYPE="ext4"
/dev/sda4: PARTUUID="a446844b-cfd2-442d-9432-0caa8f188664"


fun@fun2:~$ sudo hwinfo --short
[sudo] password for fun:           
cpu:                                                            
                       AMD A8-6600K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, 4120 MHz
                       AMD A8-6600K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, 4120 MHz
                       AMD A8-6600K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, 4120 MHz
                       AMD A8-6600K APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics, 4120 MHz
keyboard:
  /dev/input/event2    AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
mouse:
  /dev/input/mice      Microsoft Trackball Optical
monitor:
                       LG ELECTRONICS LG TV RVU
graphics card:
                       ATI Curacao PRO [Radeon R7 370 / R9 270/370 OEM]
sound:
                       ATI Cape Verde/Pitcairn HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 7700/7800 Series]
                       AMD FCH Azalia Controller
storage:
                       AMD FCH SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
network:
  enp4s0               Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller
network interface:
  enp4s0               Ethernet network interface
  lo                   Loopback network interface
disk:
  /dev/sdf             SSI H/W RAID1
  /dev/sdd             Generic USB SM Reader
  /dev/sdb             Generic USB SD Reader
  /dev/sde             Generic USB MS Reader
  /dev/sdc             Generic USB CF Reader
  /dev/sda             ST3500320AS
partition:
  /dev/sda1            Partition
  /dev/sda2            Partition
  /dev/sda3            Partition
  /dev/sda4            Partition
  /dev/sda5            Partition
cdrom:
  /dev/sr0             HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH22NS50
usb controller:
                       AMD FCH USB EHCI Controller
                       AMD FCH USB XHCI Controller
                       AMD FCH USB OHCI Controller
                       AMD FCH USB EHCI Controller
                       AMD FCH USB OHCI Controller
                       AMD FCH USB XHCI Controller
bios:
                       BIOS
bridge:
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 3
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 1
                       AMD FCH LPC Bridge
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Complex
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 4
                       AMD Hudson PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 2
                       AMD Hudson PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 0
                       AMD FCH PCI Bridge
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Root Port
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) Processor Function 5
hub:
                       Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
                       Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
                       Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
                       Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
                       Linux Foundation 3.0 root hub
                       Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
                       Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
                       Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
memory:
                       Main Memory
unknown:
                       FPU
                       DMA controller
                       PIC
                       Keyboard controller
                       PS/2 Controller
                       AMD Family 15h (Models 10h-1fh) I/O Memory Management Unit
                       AMD FCH SMBus Controller
  /dev/ttyS0           16550A

Some DMESG output, the external SATA is on ata4, the OS drive is on ata1, the CDROM ison ata3:
[    1.815283] ata1: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfeb0c000 port 0xfeb0c100 irq 35
[    1.815284] ata2: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfeb0c000 port 0xfeb0c180 irq 35
[    1.815286] ata3: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfeb0c000 port 0xfeb0c200 irq 35
[    1.815288] ata4: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfeb0c000 port 0xfeb0c280 irq 35
[    1.815290] ata5: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfeb0c000 port 0xfeb0c300 irq 35
[    1.815291] ata6: SATA max UDMA/133 abar m2048@0xfeb0c000 port 0xfeb0c380 irq 35
[    2.184522] ata3: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
[    2.185325] ata6: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
[    2.185351] ata5: SATA link down (SStatus 0 SControl 300)
[    2.344037] ata4: SATA link up 6.0 Gbps (SStatus 133 SControl 300)
[    2.344098] ata1: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)
[    2.344118] ata2: SATA link up 1.5 Gbps (SStatus 113 SControl 300)
[    2.344264] ata4.15: Port Multiplier 1.2, 0x197b:0x0562 r0, 2 ports, feat 0x5/0xf



Last edited by oldgranola on Sun May 05, 2019 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob

oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by oldgranola »

Edit: move to next reply
Last edited by oldgranola on Sat May 04, 2019 5:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob

oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by oldgranola »

continuing (this conversation with myself..) while I take a break from killing shrubbery....
I found this: [url]https://www.binarytides.com/ubuntu-auto ... n-startup/[/url

looks like /etc/ fastab file is where to edit to auto mount. True? It has the following example line:

Code: Select all

100GB /dev/sda7
UUID=eba07f1f-b287-456a-b3d6-1c40d7b28a60 /media/eba07f1f-b287-456a-b3d6-1c40d7b28a60               ext4    errors=remount-ro,auto,exec,rw,user 0       0
Would I just substitute with the eSATA UUID and desired drive designation as:

Code: Select all

/dev/sdf
UUID=cd56cea7-6cb1-41a1-9c2d-72ba1a0f2811 /media/cd56cea7-6cb1-41a1-9c2d-72ba1a0f2811               ext4    errors=remount-ro,auto,exec,rw,user 0       0
??
I left out the drive size as the example was for a partition, that ok?

Please if this seems like the way to go and I've got the syntax etc OK let me know. Or an alternative.
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob

oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by oldgranola »

I found gnome-disk or just 'disk' in my toolbox and used that to make the correct fstab entry to auto mount and be visible. Nice! Unfortunately when this startech external HDD esata goes to sleep it can't be reached through Nemo even if the entry stays. I get generic errors stating something is wrong with the drive,file system, io etc. Same for gnome-disk. Still have to hard boot the computer. Bummer, back to square one. Getting convinced its a hardware problem not an LM issue but at least learning new tricks.
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob

deepakdeshp
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6598
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by deepakdeshp »

Isn't there any setting in your disk to keep them on all the time?
If not, you can run a cron job which acceses the disks every 5 to 10 minutes,say list files
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.3 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by oldgranola »

Hello deepakdeshp. There doesn't seem to be any jumpers or settings to disable sleep for the box, nothing in the manual I can see. I just sent yet another email to startech to ask. Its weird that the only way to wake it up appears to be to hardboot the computer system. Just not getting the irq (or something) it wants otherwise. Maybe configuring the SATA in bios but that would also affect the main HD. Piece of crap box. I could try the cronjob script thing but seems wasteful.

BTW, could you tell me the correct syntax to eddit the /etc/hdparm.config to turn off APM? in the command line hdparm I used to write

Code: Select all

$ hdparm /dev/sdf -B 255
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob

deepakdeshp
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6598
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by deepakdeshp »

Sorry I don't know about hdparm. You can get the information with

Code: Select all

 man hdparm
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.3 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

deepakdeshp
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6598
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by deepakdeshp »

If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.3 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by oldgranola »

Thanks deepakdeshp . Setting hdparm -B to 255 (disable APM) while also auto mounting via fstab entry seems to help. My last q was just how to make that perm even after reboot. Seems one must edit etc/ hdparm.config which is not talked about in those links. I think this is a little too obscure for this sub forum. Just went here because I got no input on the hardware sub. Maybe belongs on server forums. Thanks, you've been helpful. I see you chiming in elsewhere. keep up the good work.
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob

deepakdeshp
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6598
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: How to get LM to see rebooted external eSATA drive?

Post by deepakdeshp »

hdparam -s is dangerous.
http://manpages.ubuntu.com/manpages/xen ... arm.8.html
You can configure to run the command at startup.
https://askubuntu.com/questions/1103715 ... -18-04-lts
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 19.3 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 processor . Memory 8GB

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”