Battery Recharge

Quick to answer questions about finding your way around Linux Mint as a new user.
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions use the other forums in the support section.
Before you post read how to get help. Topics in this forum are automatically closed 6 months after creation.
BoDill
Level 5
Level 5

Battery Recharge

Post by BoDill »

First, I have already read all the posts under, "battery recharge", and some others, but either did not find what I wanted or did not understand the post, as I am not very good with computer stuff.

My old laptop had a small battery level indicator on the panel which said that my battery was low with a 37% capacity. Recently I bought a used laptop (Dell e6420), had it stripped of all programs and loaded with Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa. It has what I would call an extended battery sticking out of the back of it. As soon as I got it home and plugged in, it showed 37% battery capacity. The owner of the repair shop where I bought it has never made a secret of the fact that he is NOT a Linux expert, but he said to ask the forum if this is a familiar problem, and also what I should do to recharge it if it needs it. He also said that he has never experienced a laptop battery charger that works well. He did say that any equipment he sells is under warranty for 60 days, so I can't get this resolved, he'll take care of it.

With that, and the fact that I like the attitude of the guy at the computer shop, I thought I would ask for advice. I am wondering if the fact that both the old and the new (to me) laptop showed a 37% capacity could be more than coincidence?

As usual, any help will be greatly appreciated,
BoDill
Last edited by LockBot on Wed Dec 28, 2022 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.