[SOLVED] Wifi working but where is my home network?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
whatsforbreakfast
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:33 pm

[SOLVED] Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by whatsforbreakfast »

Hey fellas, got a weird problem this time around. Just revived an old HP laptop with Mint 19.1 Cinnamon and while everything works straight out of the box, my home wifi network is nowhere to be seen in the available connections.

All of my neighbors wifi connections are available, and I can connect to my phones hotspot with no issue.

My other devices can see the home wifi and connect to it just fine too, so this one has really thrown me as to what is going wrong.

I tried the connections option to connect to a hidden network and entered the network ID and password EXACTLY as they are supposed to be but no luck connecting that way.

Any ideas?
Last edited by whatsforbreakfast on Mon May 20, 2019 6:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Larry78723
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3526
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by Larry78723 »

Please open a terminal full screen and run the following command

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxzd
Highlight the results and copy them (ctrl-shift-c) and enclose the results between the code markers by selecting </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply then paste (ctrl-v) them in your reply.

The results will help us to help you.
Image
User avatar
whatsforbreakfast
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by whatsforbreakfast »

Certainly! Thanks Larry, here you go

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: oddish Kernel: 4.15.0-50-generic i686 bits: 32 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Laptop System: Hewlett-Packard 
  product: HP Pavilion dv6000 (GG183PA#ABG) v: Rev 1 serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Quanta model: 30BB v: 66.37 serial: <filter> BIOS: Hewlett-Packard 
  v: F.16 date: 02/02/2007 
Battery:
  ID-1: BAT0 charge: 68.7 Wh condition: 68.7/88.8 Wh (77%) 
  model: Hewlett-Packard Primary status: Full 
CPU:
  Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core Duo T2350 bits: 32 type: MCP 
  arch: M Yonah rev: C L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
  flags: nx pae sse sse2 sse3 bogomips: 7450 
  Speed: 798 MHz min/max: 800/1867 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 798 2: 798 
Graphics:
  Device-1: Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS 943/940GML Express Integrated Graphics 
  vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: intel 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1280x800~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 945GM x86/MMX/SSE2 v: 1.4 Mesa 18.2.8 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio 
  vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-50-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network 
  vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: iwl3945 v: in-tree:s port: 18e0 
  bus ID: 02:00.0 
  IF: wls2 state: up mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Intel PRO/100 VE Network vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: e100 
  v: 3.5.24-k2-NAPI port: 4000 bus ID: 05:08.0 
  IF: enp5s8 state: down mac: <filter> 
  IF-ID-1: tun0 state: unknown speed: 10 Mbps duplex: full mac: N/A 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 111.79 GiB used: 41.77 GiB (37.4%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST9120821AS size: 111.79 GiB 
  Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: Slimtype model: DVD A DS8AZH rev: NH61 
  dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw 
  Features: speed: 24 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes 
  rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r,dvd-ram state: running 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 109.53 GiB used: 41.77 GiB (38.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 77.0 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 190 Uptime: 1h 21m Memory: 2.45 GiB used: 600.1 MiB (23.9%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11979
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by JeremyB »

Run these 2 commands in terminal and post results

Code: Select all

wget -N -t 5 -T 10 https://github.com/UbuntuForums/wireless-info/raw/master/wireless-info && chmod +x wireless-info && ./wireless-info
cat wireless-info.txt | nc termbin.com 9999
User avatar
whatsforbreakfast
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by whatsforbreakfast »

Sure thing, here's the first one

Code: Select all

--2019-05-19 21:07:10--  https://github.com/UbuntuForums/wireless-info/raw/master/wireless-info
Resolving github.com (github.com)... 192.30.255.113
Connecting to github.com (github.com)|192.30.255.113|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 302 Found
Location: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/UbuntuForums/wireless-info/master/wireless-info [following]
--2019-05-19 21:07:12--  https://raw.githubusercontent.com/UbuntuForums/wireless-info/master/wireless-info
Resolving raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)... 151.101.28.133
Connecting to raw.githubusercontent.com (raw.githubusercontent.com)|151.101.28.133|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 17452 (17K) [text/plain]
Saving to: 'wireless-info’

wireless-info       100%[===================>]  17.04K  82.3KB/s    in 0.2s    

Last-modified header missing -- time-stamps turned off.
2019-05-19 21:07:14 (82.3 KB/s) - 'wireless-info’ saved [17452/17452]

[sudo] password for squishy:           

Results saved in "/home/squishy/wireless-info.txt".

Results also archived in "/home/squishy/wireless-info.tar.gz", as they exceed the 19.5 kB size limit for ".txt" attachments on the Ubuntu Forums.
aaaand the second one gave me this URL

https://termbin.com/jfn9
User avatar
Larry78723
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3526
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by Larry78723 »

Good morning whatsforbreakfast, thanks for posting the results of that command. I'm not an expert about wi-fi, but I'm sure someone will be along who can help you. Just for your information, anytime you post a question on here it's helpful to rerun that command and post the results. It allows folks on here to see the current status of your system.
Image
User avatar
whatsforbreakfast
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by whatsforbreakfast »

Fingers crossed :) Thanks again Larry I'll be sure to do just that here on out
JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11979
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by JeremyB »

Code: Select all

sudo sed -i 's/3/2/' /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/*
sudo iw reg set JP
I know you are not in Japan but I think the regulatory restrictions might be wrong for your country
Reboot and see if it finds your AP
User avatar
whatsforbreakfast
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by whatsforbreakfast »

Hey Jeremy, I input the commands and rebooted but now the machine won't get past the mint logo loading screen. What can I do now?

Edit: Nevermind! It just took about 10 minutes for some reason to clear that screen. Looks like there's still no sign of the ap yet though
JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11979
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by JeremyB »

Do you know what channel that AP is on?
User avatar
whatsforbreakfast
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by whatsforbreakfast »

Hmm I'm not sure sorry, I have to go to sleep now but I'll try and find out tomorrow after work and post back. Cheers for your help thus far :)
Neil Edmond
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1206
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:19 am
Location: N.E. AR USA

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by Neil Edmond »

Is it possible that your issue is a simple as something like your home router is operating on 5MHz and the old laptop is only capable of 2.4MHz?
User avatar
whatsforbreakfast
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2019 7:33 pm

Re: Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by whatsforbreakfast »

I think you guys might be right and that it is due to the frequency which the ap broadcasts on. I checked in on the modem settings though and it says it's running 20mhz with the option to switch to 40mhz and nothing to be seen anywhere of 5ghz or 2.4ghz.

I think I'm just going to mark this one as solved and leave it be. Thanks for all your help :)
User avatar
lsemmens
Level 11
Level 11
Posts: 3562
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:07 pm
Location: Rural South Australia

Re: [SOLVED] Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by lsemmens »

Just as a test, you might try and see if it works under "cough", windwoes.
Fully mint Household
Out of my mind - please leave a message
JeremyB
Level 20
Level 20
Posts: 11979
Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:17 am

Re: [SOLVED] Wifi working but where is my home network?

Post by JeremyB »

And try to find out if it is on channel 12 or 13, rather than 1-11
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”