Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
AlexIII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:04 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by AlexIII »

Please, could someone advise me to the correct problem solving path on this one. I am facing too frequent freezes several times a day destroying my business activities far too often. :cry:

What happens is that when I use windowed programs first (not always) the desktop becomes sticky and finally completely unresponsive. Sometimes the mouse remains active but only visually, To fix this, while the system seems to start freezing, occasionally I am able to perform Cinnamon restart by pressing ctrl-alt-Esc. But after a few minutes, the problem may reoccur. Most often only REISUB or a hardware boot recovers the situation.

The problem based on my gut feeling most often occurs when Google Chrome (current v. 74.0.3729.157) or Opera is running and I am trying to either open a new window or a tab OR run a cloud app such Word Online, Lucidchart or Google Docs. Don't know how to read any system log to make any exact sense out of what really is going on.

Based on what I've read in the techie forums, my newbie analysis is that Cinnamon crashes due to some graphics handling issue. But I am not skilled enough to complete my fault analysis or locate a solution. The post I found I think most precisely has described a similar issue is viewtopic.php?f=208&t=263761&p=1448148& ... e#p1448148. Based on that posting and links related to it I have upgraded my Nvidia graphics driver to the latest version already a few months ago, but the problem has not gone away, it looks like it has become worse since some recent regular system updates.

Any constructive help would be highly appreciated!

- - - -

System details:
~$ inxi -Fzrxxx

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: xxxxx-POWER-Z77-IT Kernel: 4.15.0-50-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
  compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10 wm: muffin 4.0.7 
  dm: LightDM 1.26.0 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: MIKROLOG product: POWER-Z77 IT v: N/A 
  serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8Z77-V LE PLUS v: Rev X.0x serial: <filter> 
  BIOS: American Megatrends v: 0910 date: 03/18/2014 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i7-3770 bits: 64 type: MT MCP 
  arch: Ivy Bridge rev: 9 L2 cache: 8192 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 56041 
  Speed: 1648 MHz min/max: 1600/4100 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2114 2: 2598 
  3: 2246 4: 2570 5: 2662 6: 2644 7: 2528 8: 2005 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GP107 [GeForce GTX 1050] vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: nvidia v: 390.116 bus ID: 01:00.0 chip ID: 10de:1c81 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: nvidia 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,nouveau,vesa 
  resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz, 3840x2160~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: GeForce GTX 1050/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 390.116 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio vendor: ASUSTeK 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 chip ID: 8086:1e20 
  Device-2: NVIDIA GP107GL High Definition Audio vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
  driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 chip ID: 10de:0fb9 
  Device-3: Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920 type: USB 
  driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo bus ID: 2-1.5:3 chip ID: 046d:082d 
  serial: <filter> 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-50-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: ASUSTeK P8 series driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d000 
  bus ID: 03:00.0 chip ID: 10ec:8168 
  IF: enp3s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 3.86 TiB used: 225.64 GiB (5.7%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EZEX-75ZF5A0 
  size: 931.51 GiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> rev: 0A80 scheme: MBR 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Transcend model: TS240GSSD220S size: 223.57 GiB 
  speed: 3.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> rev: 71.1 scheme: MBR 
  ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: Western Digital model: WD30EFRX-68EUZN0 
  size: 2.73 TiB rotation: 5400 rpm serial: <filter> rev: 1065 scheme: MBR 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 219.06 GiB used: 23.89 GiB (10.9%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0 C mobo: 27.8 C gpu: nvidia temp: 40 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 0 gpu: nvidia fan: 43% 
Repos:
  No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/google-chrome.list 
  1: deb [arch=amd64] http://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/deb/ stable main
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
  1: deb http://packages.linuxmint.com tessa main upstream import backport #id:linuxmint_main
  2: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic main restricted universe multiverse
  3: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-updates main restricted universe multiverse
  4: deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
  5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-security main restricted universe multiverse
  6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ bionic partner
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/spotify.list 
  1: deb http://repository.spotify.com stable non-free
  Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teamviewer.list 
  1: deb http://linux.teamviewer.com/deb stable main
Info:
  Processes: 334 Uptime: 20m Memory: 15.61 GiB used: 11.55 GiB (74.0%) 
  Init: systemd v: 237 runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 alt: 7 Shell: bash 
  v: 4.4.19 running in: gnome-terminal inxi: 3.0.27
Last edited by AlexIII on Sat May 25, 2019 7:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
- - - - - - -
"Men with sharpness of mind are to be found only among those with a penchant for thought" S. Yoshimasa 1380

ShyGuy
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by ShyGuy »

have you tried switching to the Nouveau video drivers and see if the problem continues?

jglen490
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 975
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2017 9:57 pm

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by jglen490 »

I see a 5 year old BIOS MB, a third generation i7 CPU, storage that's not too badly stressed, and 16GB of RAM at 74% use. Nothing terrible there, except the RAM usage seems a bit high. But that could be due to having a lot of applications running at the same time.

I also see the Invidia 390.116 driver in use, and you say it's the latest version. Is that the driver recommended by the driver application? I'm not saying it's the incorrect driver, just looking at possibilities.

Also, do you have either a SWAP partition or a swap file activiated with your install. Either one is good, and effectively they do the same thing. Either is useful to have, especially if you have high RAM usage and if just that "little bit" more RAM is needed for some process, the OS can swap out low priority memory page files to disk temporarily to make room for higher priority RAM needs.

Beyond that, unless you're starting to see hardware failures, there should be no other reasons for frequent freezes or crashes, at least that I can see.
I feel more like I do than I did when I got here.
Toshiba A135-S2386, Intel T2080, ATI Radeon® Xpress 200M Chipset, 2GB RAM, 500GB

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14385
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by Pjotr »

Disable all visual effects in Cinnamon:
https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... html#ID5.1
(item 5.1)
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

User avatar
AlexIII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:04 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by AlexIII »

Thank you, I will try this out and let this forum know what happened.

Pjotr wrote:
Fri May 24, 2019 1:40 pm
Disable all visual effects in Cinnamon:
https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... html#ID5.1
(item 5.1)
- - - - - - -
"Men with sharpness of mind are to be found only among those with a penchant for thought" S. Yoshimasa 1380

User avatar
smurphos
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5567
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by smurphos »

AlexIII wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 4:42 am
Thank you, I will try this out and let this forum know what happened.
I'd be more concerned about the excessive memory usage than effects that your machine should be more than capable of handling - what's eating up 11-12GB of RAM 20 minutes after starting up?

This may be informative as to what is using so much RAM.

Code: Select all

top -o RES
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

spnoe
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Aug 05, 2009 5:47 pm

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by spnoe »

Random freezing seems to becoming a regular problem with Mint. About a year ago I had the same problem and it went on for some time. I thought it was dodgy memory card but no it turned out to be a problem with Mint, after an update all went back to normal. Now for the last 2 weeks, after I updated Mint 19 the problem reappeared. No problem with Ubuntu or Windows 10 or other Desktops such as Solus or Sparky.
I have been using Mint for many years and always told others who were interested to go with Mint, its reliable. No more. I think I will be moving on to a different flavour.
Steve

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14385
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by Pjotr »

spnoe wrote:
Mon May 27, 2019 7:14 am
Random freezing seems to becoming a regular problem with Mint.
No it doesn't. Not on my machines.

Don't generalize from your experience with just a couple of hardware combinations. If you want help with your hardware combinations, please start your own thread and provide the output of inxi -Fxz. I'll try to help you there.
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

User avatar
AlexIII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:04 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by AlexIII »

Thank you for the tip, after some trials I tend to agree with your analysis. I did some amateur tweaks based on your clue and using the hacks page hinted by Pjotr (https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... html#ID5.1). I attached a screenshot of the starting point after disabling the Cinnamon effects and running some apps I typically do. Memory usage was still huge, but I did not encounter Cinnamon freezes.
Screenshot from 2019-05-30 08-59-49 just started browsing...png
Screenshot from 2019-05-30 08-59-49 just started browsing...png (184.25 KiB) Viewed 379 times
After that, I made some hacks listed in https://easylinuxtipsproject.blogspot.c ... html#ID5.1 and restored the Cinnamon effects to default. Now the memory usage is far more reasonable, and I have not encountered hangs. But still top -o RES gives:

Code: Select all

Tasks: 284 total,   1 running, 192 sleeping,   0 stopped,   1 zombie
%Cpu(s):  6,7 us,  1,8 sy,  0,0 ni, 91,5 id,  0,0 wa,  0,0 hi,  0,0 si,  0,0 st
KiB Mem : 16368944 total,  5762348 free,  6165048 used,  4441548 buff/cache
KiB Swap:  2097148 total,  2097148 free,        0 used.  9333300 avail Mem 

  PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND     
11514 antti     20   0 3007648 1,256g 130284 S   1,7  8,0   1:57.26 Web Content 
10959 antti     20   0 3020916 1,227g 114560 S   0,3  7,9   1:19.02 Web Content 
10473 antti     20   0 3093744 1,198g 128548 S   0,3  7,7   2:11.40 Web Content 
 6174 antti     20   0 2987324 728008 287904 S   8,6  4,4   3:39.67 firefox     
 6447 antti     20   0 2488240 465688 124988 S   0,7  2,8   2:02.76 Web Content 
 2042 antti     20   0 3965252 355056 130204 S   7,6  2,2   2:27.80 cinnamon    
 8996 antti     20   0 1733320 344192 150844 S   0,3  2,1   0:09.76 soffice.bin 
 6479 antti     20   0 1849940 339896 224760 S   1,7  2,1   0:23.09 Web Content 
 6252 antti     20   0 1819780 271672 167140 S   9,9  1,7   2:54.98 Web Content 
 6357 antti     20   0 1751432 266012  90184 S   0,0  1,6   0:40.10 WebExtensi+ 
 1332 root      20   0  964764 262512 231604 S   7,6  1,6   2:39.91 Xorg        
 6502 antti     20   0 1773452 234028 133604 S   0,0  1,4   0:14.60 Web Content 
 7202 antti     20   0 1693036 200176 107084 S   0,3  1,2   0:11.05 Web Content 
 2733 antti     20   0  762500 106376  48584 S  13,9  0,6   7:18.17 stacer      
13000 antti     20   0  712936  78876  46264 S   0,0  0,5   0:00.93 tomboy      
 1876 antti     20   0  941500  72224  64868 S   0,0  0,4   0:00.50 csd-backgr+ 
 2076 antti     20   0  729224  70172  38340 S  11,9  0,4   7:23.39 stacer
The change in sysctl.conf I think had an effect this far were these new settings:

Code: Select all

vm.vfs_cache_pressure=50
and

Code: Select all

vm.snappiness=2
. Further, after leaving Chrome out of the equation the amount of used memory is in this case rd 6 GB minimum + the buff/cache of rd 4 GB. To me it sounds like big use of memory anyway.

As you can see in the top -o RES report, something still occupies RAM. Maybe that causes buff/cache to be large, and could that have something to do with the graphics driver? What else could explain the big number of buff/cache? To try to eliminate the effect browser caching, I limited the Firefox browser cache (Browser.cache.memory.capacity) from undefined to rd. 300 MB (300 000). Could it be advisable to try to change the Nvidia Driver to Nouveau, as ShyGuy suggested?

smurphos wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 5:09 am
AlexIII wrote:
Sun May 26, 2019 4:42 am
Thank you, I will try this out and let this forum know what happened.
I'd be more concerned about the excessive memory usage than effects that your machine should be more than capable of handling - what's eating up 11-12GB of RAM 20 minutes after starting up?

This may be informative as to what is using so much RAM.

Code: Select all

top -o RES
- - - - - - -
"Men with sharpness of mind are to be found only among those with a penchant for thought" S. Yoshimasa 1380

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14385
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by Pjotr »

I didn't look too closely at your data, but are you aware of this:
https://www.linuxatemyram.com/
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

User avatar
smurphos
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5567
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Britisher
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by smurphos »

Are you using Firefox and Chrome? I think those Web Content items are individual Firefox tabs....but 1GB+ for a single browser tab seems huge, and you've got three of them...:roll
For custom Nemo actions, useful scripts for the Cinnamon desktop, and Cinnamox themes visit my Github pages.

User avatar
AlexIII
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2016 9:04 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by AlexIII »

smurphos wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 1:09 am
Are you using Firefox and Chrome? I think those Web Content items are individual Firefox tabs....but 1GB+ for a single browser tab seems huge, and you've got three of them...:roll
Yes, in this instance I indeed use both of them. And my common sense says there is something wrong with the memory usage of these, which was one of my suspicions in the first place - later it seems likely the problem has little to do with Cinnamon.

What is your judgement (on top of the fact I am new to Linux)..?
- - - - - - -
"Men with sharpness of mind are to be found only among those with a penchant for thought" S. Yoshimasa 1380

User avatar
Pjotr
Level 21
Level 21
Posts: 14385
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:18 am
Location: The Netherlands (Holland)
Contact:

Re: Frequent Cinnamon 4 freezes running LM 19.1 Tessa

Post by Pjotr »

What add-ons / extensions did you install in Firefox and Chrome?
Tip: 10 things to do after installing Linux Mint 19.3 Tricia
Keep your Linux Mint healthy: Avoid these 10 fatal mistakes
Twitter: twitter.com/easylinuxtips
All in all, horse sense simply makes sense.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”