MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
etharus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:19 pm

MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by etharus »

The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds after boot up in the latest Kernel 5.0. The mouse cursor can be moved around but can't click into anywhere.

I have to write this in the original Kernel and set "nomodeset" to grub to boot to the desktop. But in this Kernel, I'm in software rendering mode and constantly get a Cinnamon just crashed pop-up whenever I move the cursor to specific areas of the taskbar.

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: htpc Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Gigabyte product: B450M DS3H v: N/A serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Gigabyte model: B450M DS3H-CF v: x.x serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: American Megatrends v: F40 date: 05/16/2019 
Battery:
  Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400 
  charge: 55% status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G with Radeon Vega Graphics 
  bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Zen L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 27948 
  Speed: 1554 MHz min/max: 1600/3500 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2892 2: 2836 
  3: 1632 4: 2969 
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Raven Ridge [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] 
  driver: N/A bus ID: 06:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: ati,fbdev 
  unloaded: modesetting,radeon,vesa resolution: 1024x768~76Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 7.0 128 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 18.2.8 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 06:00.1 
  Device-2: AMD vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 06:00.6 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-20-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Gigabyte driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: f000 bus ID: 04:00.0 
  IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 596.17 GiB used: 9.30 GiB (1.6%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD6400AAKS-00A7B2 
  size: 596.17 GiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 585.32 GiB used: 9.29 GiB (1.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 16.8 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 184 Uptime: 8m Memory: 5.83 GiB used: 903.0 MiB (15.1%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27
Last edited by Moem on Sat Jun 01, 2019 6:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split off into a separate topic. Every new question deserves its own topic.
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8472
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by deepakdeshp »

What about testing with mint live USB ?
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
User avatar
Larry78723
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by Larry78723 »

Check out the following post. It worked for that user.

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=294968#p1639171
Image
oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by oldgranola »

etharus wrote:
Sat Jun 01, 2019 4:07 pm
The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds after boot up in the latest Kernel 5.0. The mouse cursor can be moved around but can't click into anywhere.
Kernel 5.0 is NOT the latest kernel and is not supported here anyway. Upstream stable is on 5.1.5 but is still not supported here, consider it experimental. Go back to the latest 4.15.0-50 at the time of this writing if you want help.
I do play with Kernels but not on computers I MUST have working. This is not the place to bring up upstream problems. Post bugs for current upstream (again 5.0 is not current) at https://bugzilla.kernel.org/. Nobody cares here for none LM supported stuff. Post problems while running the latest LM19.1 supported kernels which are in the 4.15.0-x series

And do ignore the two posts above, will not help you
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob
oldgranola
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 488
Joined: Fri Sep 05, 2014 1:39 am

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by oldgranola »

actually, sorry the post about the live USB might as if that works, its def your kernel. Apologies.
comadore, pcDOS, hpux, solaris, vms-vax ....blah blah blah..
Yet I'm still a fn nooob
Hoser Rob
Level 16
Level 16
Posts: 6826
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 8:57 am

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by Hoser Rob »

oldgranola wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 9:24 pm
... Post problems while running the latest LM19.1 supported kernels which are in the 4.15.0-x series

And do ignore the two posts above, will not help you
There's some whose input should be ignored, you got that part right. Where do you get this idea? You can most certainly use newer kernels than 4.15 in 19.1.
User avatar
trytip
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4927
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by trytip »

in your endeavor to install a kernel/driver for your cpu/gpu you probably mixed a few things. i have the same hardware, or close and working fine with open source or proprietary drivers, but i did have the freezing issue and the only way to revert it was timeshift back.

Code: Select all

mint03@mint03:~$ inxi -Fxzd
System:
  Host: mint03 Kernel: 4.18.0-21-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.10 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Gigabyte product: A320M-S2H v: N/A serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Gigabyte model: A320M-S2H-CF v: x.x serial: <filter> 
  UEFI [Legacy]: American Megatrends v: F32 date: 05/06/2019 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G with Radeon Vega Graphics 
  bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Zen L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 27947 
  Speed: 1834 MHz min/max: 1600/3500 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1886 2: 2264 
  3: 1463 4: 1521 
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Raven Ridge [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] 
  driver: amdgpu v: kernel bus ID: 07:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: amdgpu unloaded: modesetting 
  resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: AMD RAVEN (DRM 3.26.0 4.18.0-21-generic LLVM 8.0.0) 
  v: 4.5 Mesa 19.2.0-devel (git-fea36a8 2019-06-04 bionic-oibaf-ppa) 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 07:00.1 
  Device-2: AMD vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 07:00.6 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.18.0-21-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Gigabyte driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: f000 bus ID: 06:00.0 
  IF: enp6s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Atheros AR9271 802.11n type: USB driver: ath9k_htc bus ID: 3-2:2 
  IF: wlx8416f91965d1 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 2.05 TiB used: 571.87 GiB (27.2%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST2000LM007-1R8174 size: 1.82 TiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Crucial model: C300-CTFDDAC256MAG size: 238.47 GiB 
  Message: No Optical or Floppy data was found. 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 24.48 GiB used: 6.77 GiB (27.6%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb5 
  ID-2: /home size: 88.83 GiB used: 2.18 GiB (2.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb6 
  ID-3: swap-1 size: 4.00 GiB used: 0 KiB (0.0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb7 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 30.1 C mobo: N/A gpu: amdgpu temp: 30 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 236 Uptime: 23m Memory: 5.83 GiB used: 1.21 GiB (20.7%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
mint03@mint03:~$ 
most likely you tried forcing components of xorg and mesa that were not compatible, and need to start fresh. but i don't know where you are right now
Image
etharus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by etharus »

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I will try again soon.
deepakdeshp wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 5:25 pm
What about testing with mint live USB ?
I can't tell how stable it was in the live USB because I went directly to install Mint. However, nothing froze during the installation. But I still had to edit grub to "nomodeset" in order to see the screen and load the live USB desktop.
Larry78723 wrote:
Mon Jun 03, 2019 5:38 pm
Check out the following post. It worked for that user.

viewtopic.php?f=90&t=294968#p1639171
Yep, I tried that and didn't work. My OP was actually moved from that post to here :)
trytip wrote:
Tue Jun 04, 2019 9:39 am
in your endeavor to install a kernel/driver for your cpu/gpu you probably mixed a few things. i have the same hardware, or close and working fine with open source or proprietary drivers, but i did have the freezing issue and the only way to revert it was timeshift back.

most likely you tried forcing components of xorg and mesa that were not compatible, and need to start fresh. but i don't know where you are right now
I'm not familiar with xorg and mesa but I know I read that I needed to update BIOS to the latest so I did that. I also installed the 5.0 series kernel as suggested. Perhaps there are some BIOS settings I need to adjust as well?

I'll do a fresh install again soon and start over.
User avatar
trytip
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4927
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by trytip »

if you do decide to install fresh, use the "nomodeset" for any kernel below 4.18, but don't complicate things trying to install the proprietary drivers that AMD.COM offers. that driver if you happen to find it is not worth your time.
don't even worry about the drivers until after you install, customize your desktop, update and create a timeshift snapshot
Image
etharus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by etharus »

Okay, I'm going to try today. Do you mean I shouldn't check the box during the installation where it reads "Install third-party software for graphics and Wi-Fi hardware..."?
User avatar
trytip
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4927
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by trytip »

Yes you should check the box for third-party codecs and software, then come back after successful installation and post your inxi -Fxzd don't add the "nomodeset" to your /etc/default/grub either, just use the modeset at boot until we get you settled with a kernel for your cpu/gpu
Image
etharus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by etharus »

Here's the clean install:

Code: Select all

System:
  Host: htpc Kernel: 4.15.0-20-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc 
  v: 7.3.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.0.8 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop System: Gigabyte product: B450M DS3H v: N/A serial: <filter> 
  Mobo: Gigabyte model: B450M DS3H-CF v: x.x serial: <filter> 
  UEFI: American Megatrends v: F40 date: 05/16/2019 
Battery:
  Device-1: hidpp_battery_0 model: Logitech Wireless Touch Keyboard K400 
  charge: 55% status: Discharging 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: AMD Ryzen 3 2200G with Radeon Vega Graphics 
  bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Zen L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm 
  bogomips: 27947 
  Speed: 1977 MHz min/max: 1600/3500 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1420 2: 1422 
  3: 1422 4: 1473 
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD Vega [Radeon Vega 8 Mobile] driver: N/A bus ID: 06:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: ati,fbdev 
  unloaded: modesetting,radeon,vesa resolution: 1024x768~76Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 6.0 128 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 18.0.5 
  direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: AMD driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 06:00.1 
  Device-2: AMD vendor: Gigabyte driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
  bus ID: 06:00.6 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-20-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Gigabyte driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: f000 bus ID: 04:00.0 
  IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 1.49 TiB used: 78.29 GiB (5.1%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD6400AAKS-00A7B2 
  size: 596.17 GiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb type: USB vendor: Seagate model: Expansion size: 931.51 GiB 
  Message: No Optical or Floppy data was found. 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 585.32 GiB used: 7.91 GiB (1.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 16.8 C mobo: N/A 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A 
Info:
  Processes: 194 Uptime: 2m Memory: 5.83 GiB used: 647.4 MiB (10.8%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.3.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 
  inxi: 3.0.27 
etharus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by etharus »

Bumping this to see if I can get any other ideas before I give up and wait for the next version of Linux Mint.

I tried many different ways from various sources regarding BIOS settings. Nothing seems to work. The latest steps I took was:

1. Booted live USB with modification to grub with nomodeset.
2. Installed Mint.
3. Rebooted and added nomodeset before loading desktop.
4. Installed latest kernel 5.0.
5. Rebooted and added nomodeset before loading desktop.
6. Followed the special steps from that easy linux tips project blog (changed the PSU setting from BIOS, installed something from terminal, added a parameter to a line in grub).
7. Rebooted into desktop without any grub modifications.

The desktop still freezes. When it freezes varies. Sometimes very early. Sometimes it takes a few minutes. Sometimes the cursor can be moved but can't click on anything. Sometimes the cursor doesn't even move.

I don't know if it matters but I'm installing Mint to a usb storage drive and my keyboard / mouse combo is wireless with a usb adapter plugged into a USB 2.0 port.

I also tried Ubuntu and LibreElec and both exhibited the same freezing issue.
deepakdeshp
Level 18
Level 18
Posts: 8472
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by deepakdeshp »

You are doing most of the things to try out. After new kernel install you have to reboot. uname -r command gives the running kernel. Please test while booting from live usb. So that we know if the problem is after installation.Your available memory is very much lesser than the installed 8gb. I wonder why. You can start a new thread for the same.

Did you search the net with ryzen 3 2200g freezing with Ubuntu 18.04?
If I have helped you solve a problem, please add [SOLVED] to your first post title, it helps other users looking for help, and keeps the forum clean.
Regards,
Deepak

I am using Mint 20 Cinnamon 64 bit with AMD A8/7410 / 8GB
Mint 20 Cinnamon AMD Ryzen3500U
User avatar
Larry78723
Level 10
Level 10
Posts: 3041
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by Larry78723 »

Looks like the system sees no driver available. Humm ....

Let's see what the system is aware of. Post back - Between code tags - the outputs of terminal commands

Code: Select all

sudo lshw -C display

Code: Select all

lspci -k|grep -iEA5 'vga|3d'

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep radeon

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep amdgpu
Image
User avatar
trytip
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4927
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by trytip »

you ONLY add nomodeset for kernels that not compatible with Ryzen. after installing kernel 5 DO NOT NOMODESET

i believe the culprit is Cinnamon. i get crashes here too and i have all the correct software for my Ryzen3/Vega8
just before this post i was going to post another in a different thread, but needed a snapshot. after i opened shutter and chose selection i was sent back to the login screen loosing all my typed dialog

you need this ppa for any amd/radeon hardware. do you have it? https://launchpad.net/~oibaf/+archive/u ... cs-drivers
Image
User avatar
boyo1991
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2018 7:24 am

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by boyo1991 »

you need this ppa for any amd/radeon hardware.
Is this a ryzen only thing? You must also be meaning "this kernel and amd/radeon" as everything works just fine for me on fx series. (then again it could be a kernel thing)

Id like to get more info on the live usb. OP says there were no freezes in installation.. Lets boot into a live disk and just "try linux mint" and see if we get freezes.
4.15.0-52-generic
19.1 cinnamon
amd fx6300
rx460/560d
etharus
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2019 6:19 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by etharus »

Code: Select all

$ sudo lshw -C display
  *-display UNCLAIMED       
       description: VGA compatible controller
       product: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
       vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI]
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:06:00.0
       version: c8
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm pciexpress msi msix vga_controller bus_master cap_list
       configuration: latency=0
       resources: memory:e0000000-efffffff memory:f0000000-f01fffff ioport:e000(size=256) memory:fcd00000-fcd7ffff

Code: Select all

$ lspci -k|grep -iEA5 'vga|3d'
01:00.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43d5 (rev 01)
	Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 1142
	Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
01:00.1 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43c8 (rev 01)
	Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 1062
	Kernel driver in use: ahci
--
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Vega [Radeon Vega 8 Mobile] (rev c8)
	Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Vega [Radeon Vega 8 Mobile]
	Kernel modules: amdgpu
06:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 15de
	Subsystem: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 15de
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep radeon

Code: Select all

lsmod | grep amdgpu
I got nothing from the last two commands.

I have to use nomodeset for kernel 5.0 or the freezing happens. The above commands were entered with that setting.

I installed that ppa and after rebooting without doing nomodeset, the desktop froze randomly as normal.

The live USB does indeed work flawlessly for me (with nomodeset). I can run applications, browse the web, and use the start menu without it freezing.
Your available memory is very much lesser than the installed 8gb. I wonder why.
Yeah, I noticed that too. I'm thinking it's the swap file?
User avatar
trytip
Level 13
Level 13
Posts: 4927
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:20 pm

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by trytip »

I installed that ppa and after rebooting without doing nomodeset, the desktop froze randomly as normal.
at this point this might just be a cinnamon theme conflict. i too have freezes and crashes. a few days ago i opened qbittorrent and the splash image made my system crash to login screen. then shutter froze the desktop when i clicked to make snapshot of a region. these are theme issues

what theme are you using ?
Image
MarkTheMorose
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 9:39 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: MInt and AMD: The desktop freezes almost within 15 seconds

Post by MarkTheMorose »

This freezing isn't limited to Cinnamon. I'm on MATE 19.1, and it's happening there too, with a Ryzen 2200g. I also had the same with an Athlon 200ge, effectively a cut-down Ryzen APU, just less cores.

Having read a few posts on the subject from different users, it starts to look to me as if it's the graphics side, and not the CPU. A user with a Ryzen CPU (no graphics component on the CPU) reports no problems at all. He also has a laptop with an AMD Ryzen 2500U, effectively the laptop version of the Ryzen 2200G.

That experiences the freezing.

As well as 19.1, I also have a PC with the Athlon 200GE, running 19.2 beta (Cinnamon). The freezing happens in both. I'm currently testing 19.2 beta with the very latest kernel, 5.0.0.23. I've not had that freeze just yet, but I haven't done extensive testing. I've just installed that kernel on the Ryzen 2200g PC also, and again, haven't done enough testing to see a freeze yet.

In my case, I spend most of my time at the PC in Firefox web browser, and I've only ever seen the freeze happen while in Firefox.

It is interesting that the keyboard is still able to send Alt-SysRq-REISUB and it be recognised by the OS, but other keys appear to be ignored. My theory is that things ARE happening, but that the screen display is frozen. Those of us suffering the freeze are clicking on icons/buttons, and they are being recognised, but with the display frozen, we think the OS as a whole is frozen.

As I say, just a theory, and I don't know of any way to test it to prove or disprove it.
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”