cascading display from dell splash screen after install

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
newest1here
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:07 pm

cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by newest1here » Fri Aug 09, 2019 4:05 pm

it appears to be about 28 visible on screen
and an unknown number trailing off the edge of the display
the screen spit in have vertically with the exact same thing happening on the lower half
from dell splash screen thought the but-up and while in the OS
I tried reinstalling several other OS's after MINT that included
windows10 puppy-bionic debian10 after yet the problem remained
i think it comes from Mint because no mater what Os it also comes with a bar code under the cursor and the screens shading turns Linux mint green
some times it will boot-up normal and the display will switch to that in the middle of the session
mintupload4.JPG
mintupload3.JPG
mintupload2.JPG
mintupload1.JPG
Graphics:
Device-1: NVIDIA G86GLM [Quadro FX 360M] vendor: Dell driver: N/A
bus ID: 01:00.0
Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.20.4 driver: nouveau,vesa
unloaded: fbdev,modesetting resolution: 640x480~N/A
OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 7.0 128 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 18.3.6
direct render: Yes

User avatar
Larry78723
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:01 pm
Location: Jasper County, SC, USA

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by Larry78723 » Fri Aug 09, 2019 5:45 pm

Please post an inxi -Fxz report. This will give us a concise overview of your hardware and on how Mint sees it.

Here is how to generate the report and post it:

Open a terminal window. Make it fullscreen to avoid unneeded linebreaks or chopped lines. Execute the command

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxzd 
exactly as it has been typed here.

Mark the complete text output which the command will display with your mouse.
Press the keyboard shortcut <Shift><Ctrl>C to copy the marked text into the clipboard.
Enclose the results between the code markers by selecting </> from the mini toolbar above the textbox where you type your reply then paste <Ctrl>V them in your reply between the code markers.

The results will help us to help you.

Larry
Image

newest1here
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:07 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by newest1here » Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:38 am

Code: Select all

aaron@aaron:~$  inxi -Fxzd 
System:    Host: aaron Kernel: 4.15.0-54-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.3 
           Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:   Type: Portable System: Dell product: Precision M2300 v: N/A serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: Dell model: 0TN102 serial: <filter> BIOS: Dell v: A01 date: 10/30/2007 
CPU:       Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Core2 Duo T7250 bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Core Merom rev: D L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 7979 
           Speed: 826 MHz min/max: 800/2001 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 798 2: 798 
Graphics:  Device-1: NVIDIA G86GLM [Quadro FX 360M] vendor: Dell driver: N/A bus ID: 01:00.0 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: nouveau,vesa unloaded: fbdev,modesetting resolution: 640x480~N/A 
           OpenGL: renderer: llvmpipe (LLVM 8.0 128 bits) v: 3.3 Mesa 19.0.2 direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel 82801H HD Audio vendor: Dell driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-54-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Broadcom and subsidiaries NetXtreme BCM5755M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express vendor: Dell driver: tg3 
           v: 3.137 port: df00 bus ID: 09:00.0 
           IF: enp9s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
           Device-2: Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG [Golan] Network driver: iwl3945 v: in-tree:s port: df00 bus ID: 0c:00.0 
           IF: wlp12s0 state: up mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 149.05 GiB used: 7.73 GiB (5.2%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Seagate model: ST9160821AS size: 149.05 GiB 
           Optical-1: /dev/sr0 vendor: HL-DT-ST model: DVD+-RW GSA-T21N rev: A100 dev-links: cdrom,cdrw,dvd,dvdrw 
           Features: speed: 24 multisession: yes audio: yes dvd: yes rw: cd-r,cd-rw,dvd-r state: running 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 27.38 GiB used: 7.73 GiB (28.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 57.0 C mobo: N/A sodimm: 50.0 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 2509 
Info:      Processes: 162 Uptime: 6m Memory: 2.93 GiB used: 1.14 GiB (38.9%) Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: 
           gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.19 inxi: 3.0.32 
aaron@aaron:~$ 
Screenshot taken during cascade remember this happen from the dell splash screen is still up but the screen shoot comes out clean.
Also remember some times it crashes the computer in order to Active!
Screenshot while the diplay is messed up--cascading.png

newest1here
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:07 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by newest1here » Tue Aug 27, 2019 1:16 pm

IMG_20190826_101255.jpg
Attachments
IMG_20190826_103351.jpg
IMG_20190827_054737.jpg
stared at bios boot now at start up

HAWR
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by HAWR » Tue Aug 27, 2019 1:26 pm

Hello newest1here,

your terminal output shows, that your graphic card is only running with the default nouveau driver. Your card can use the proprietary nvidia 340.xxx driver, which should be offered to you in the driver manager. You should enable it and see, if your situation becomes better.

newest1here
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:07 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by newest1here » Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:21 am

Thank you for the reply and the good advice.
Since your reply
I have
retried that option
but it had no effect
any further advice is more than welcome!
I thank you again!

newest1here
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:07 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by newest1here » Wed Sep 04, 2019 10:33 am

since this I've also tried reinstalling other Linux

including Debian, Puppy and 'Windows 10'

how ever the problem persist through all of them

HAWR
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 1:15 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by HAWR » Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:58 am

Hello newest1here,

then I think, you can benefit from a BIOS update. You have the version A01 installed and the most recent one you can find on the Dell website is A11. And here is a good video tutorial for BIOS update under Linux and it is even shown on a Dell product (but can be used also on other machines, too, if a DOS version is availlable):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WqDUCfU-e-A

(On Dell website you also can find manuals for your laptop)

newest1here
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 02, 2019 2:07 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by newest1here » Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:56 pm

thank you for your response it is greatly appreciate but in fact i started with the a11 BIOS but trying to figure out some way out of this screen issue downgraded it to A09 and than the one you see it werde cause some time the thing works fine than just when i need it back to the multiple thing

gittiest personITW
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 409
Joined: Tue May 28, 2019 4:27 pm

Re: cascading display from dell splash screen after install

Post by gittiest personITW » Thu Sep 12, 2019 3:13 pm

Hi,
Can't quite get the whole meaning from your post, but if there is still a problem .......

Just as a troubleshoot to help pinpoint the problem,
If you hook up the computer to an external monitor, does it do the same?

It might possibly be that your graphics card is on its way out.
Its not impossible to fix but is tricky. (Computer repair shop tricky)

Can you try booting into BIOS and look through all the settings.
If there is a setting there to alter the graphics, set it to the minimum setting (VGA) which will look very lumpy but its just to see if your graphics card can handle lower resolutions.
Remember the settings that you change (write them down) so you can go back to the old settings after.
Post back with the result......

Obviously if updating the BIOS and reinstalling the graphics card works, then ignore the above.
Good luck.

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”