Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text. [solved]

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text. [solved]

Post by pepperminty » Sun Aug 18, 2019 6:59 am

It was suggested to me to use the Calibre from the Calibre website. So that's what I did.

But now, the dropdown menus have gray text on a gray background, as you can see in this screenshot.

How do I fix this?

I'm using Cinnamon 19.2.
Calibre is 3.46.
I don't know which subforum to post this (Desktop Managers? Software?), so I posted here.
Last edited by pepperminty on Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2605
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text.

Post by kyphi » Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:51 pm

I assume that you used the "binary install" method.

My installation of Calibre looks different to what your link shows but that may just be due to the chosen theme.

Have a look in Calibre Preferences, Look & feel (Ctrl + p) where you can alter the display according to your wishes.

Using Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon with Calibre 3.46.
Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon - 64bit

ajgringo619
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1386
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:36 pm
Location: San Diego, California

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text.

Post by ajgringo619 » Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:17 pm

Since Calibre is a QT5 application, you'll need to run QT5 Settings (Settings ---> Preferences) to change the overall look (it will NOT use your theme).
Mint 19.2 XFCE
kernel 4.15.0-64-generic
AMD FX-8350 Eight-Core w/16 GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce 960 w/2GB RAM (435.21)
Image

User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text.

Post by pepperminty » Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:32 pm

I fixed the problem by
going to the etc/profile.d/ folder and renaming "calibre.sh" to "calibre.shBACKUP".
it had one line in it: export CALIBRE_USE_SYSTEM_THEME=1.

User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text.

Post by pepperminty » Sun Aug 18, 2019 10:51 pm

kyphi wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:51 pm
I assume that you used the "binary install" method.

My installation of Calibre looks different to what your link shows but that may just be due to the chosen theme.

Have a look in Calibre Preferences, Look & feel (Ctrl + p) where you can alter the display according to your wishes.

Using Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon with Calibre 3.46.
Yes, I used the "binary install" method.

Can I see a screenshot of your Calibre (3.46)? How did you install your Calibre?

Calibre Preferences, Look & Feel doesn't let us alter the theme.

User avatar
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2605
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text. [solved]

Post by kyphi » Mon Aug 19, 2019 12:59 am

I was pleased to read that you fixed it but just for the record, yes you can change the icon themes - there are 17 of them provided as well as a revert button.

I do not have an entry for calibre in /etc/profile.d
Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon - 64bit

User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text. [solved]

Post by pepperminty » Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:19 am

Hmmm. Not sure why you brought up icon themes, as that's not what the problem is. :)

User avatar
kyphi
Level 9
Level 9
Posts: 2605
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 1:14 am
Location: The Hunter Valley, Australia

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text. [solved]

Post by kyphi » Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:39 pm

pepperminty wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 7:19 am
Not sure why you brought up icon themes, as that's not what the problem is.
See entries 2 - 5 above relating to themes. Your installation of Calibre looks different to mine - different (icon) theme. Or are we talking about different things here such as general themes and icon themes.

Should that be was in "... as that's not what the problem is"? It is fixed, is it not?
Linux Mint 19.2 Cinnamon - 64bit

User avatar
pepperminty
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 822
Joined: Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:51 pm

Re: Calibre's dropdown menu has gray text on a gray background. I can't see the text. [solved]

Post by pepperminty » Mon Aug 19, 2019 10:16 pm

I know that we can choose the icon themes, but I don't have a problem with my current icon them.

I could change my icon theme, but that doesn't touch on the problem I originally posted about (i.e., text in dropdown menus were same color as menu color).
Yes, my problem is fixed, by doing what I did in posting.php?mode=reply&f=90&t=300054&si ... #pr1673963 :)

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”