Missing Context Menu Item?

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
kylerickards
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:39 am

Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by kylerickards » Tue Aug 20, 2019 11:56 am

Hi

I seem to have developed two issues in the past week?

1) When I right click a file, to get "Open Parent Location", it just opens Banshee?

2) When I open an album in VLC, the volume drops from whatever to 0% and I have to manually lift it again?

Am I missing something obvious?

Thanks
K

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5667
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by all41 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 1:35 pm

For first issue:
Depends on your Desktop (Cinnamon, MATE, Xfce)
Right click on any folder and choose "Open with other Application"
Then choose to open with your file manager (Nemo, MATE, Thunar) depending on the desktop choice.
Be sure to put a check in the box to remember this.

Not sure re: the vlc volume problem.
Please post your results of this terminal inquiry:

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
This is an overview of your hardware and installation criteria.

kylerickards
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:39 am

Re: Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by kylerickards » Tue Aug 20, 2019 5:14 pm

Hi

Thank you for this.

Weirdly, changing the "Open with" works with some files but not others? I have done that before though to get it working.

The second part is :

Code: Select all

 Kernel: 4.18.0-13-generic x86_64 bits: 64 
  compiler: gcc v: 7.3.0 Desktop: MATE 1.20.1 Distro: Linux Mint 19.1 Tessa 
  base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: Advent model: Centurion CQ9204 v: 1.0 serial: <filter> 
  BIOS: American Megatrends v: 080015 date: 09/25/2009 
CPU:
  Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core2 Quad Q8300 bits: 64 type: MCP 
  arch: Penryn rev: A L2 cache: 2048 KiB 
  flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 19999 
  Speed: 2500 MHz min/max: 2003/2499 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 2500 2: 2500 
  3: 2000 4: 2000 
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA G92 [GeForce GT 230 OEM] 
  vendor: PC Partner Limited / Sapphire driver: nouveau v: kernel 
  bus ID: 01:00.0 
  Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: nouveau 
  unloaded: fbdev,modesetting,vesa resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: NV92 v: 3.3 Mesa 19.0.8 direct render: Yes 
Audio:
  Device-1: Intel 82801JI HD Audio vendor: Foxconn driver: snd_hda_intel 
  v: kernel bus ID: 00:1b.0 
  Device-2: C-Media CMI8738/CMI8768 PCI Audio driver: snd_cmipci v: kernel 
  bus ID: 06:00.0 
  Device-3: Nam Tai E&E Products or OmniVision Sony Playstation Eye 
  type: USB driver: ov534,snd-usb-audio bus ID: 1-1:2 
  Device-4: Texas Instruments PCM2902 Audio Codec type: USB 
  driver: hid-generic,snd-usb-audio,usbhid bus ID: 7-2:2 
  Device-5: Logitech Webcam C270 type: USB driver: snd-usb-audio,uvcvideo 
  bus ID: 1-6:5 
  Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.18.0-13-generic 
Network:
  Device-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet 
  vendor: Foxconn driver: r8169 v: 2.3LK-NAPI port: d800 bus ID: 04:00.0 
  IF: enp4s0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
  Device-2: Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI driver: rt61pci v: 2.3.0 
  port: e800 bus ID: 07:00.0 
  IF: wlp7s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 2.71 TiB used: 1.71 TiB (63.2%) 
  ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: SanDisk model: SSD PLUS 480GB size: 447.14 GiB 
  ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Samsung model: HD502IJ size: 465.76 GiB 
  ID-3: /dev/sdc type: USB vendor: Western Digital model: WD My Book 1140 
  size: 1.82 TiB 
Partition:
  ID-1: / size: 428.90 GiB used: 160.38 GiB (37.4%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1 
Sensors:
  System Temperatures: cpu: 50.0 C mobo: N/A gpu: nouveau temp: 56 C 
  Fan Speeds (RPM): N/A gpu: nouveau fan: 0 
Info:
  Processes: 243 Uptime: 4d 4h 03m Memory: 7.79 GiB used: 3.72 GiB (47.8%) 
  Init: systemd runlevel: 5 Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20 
  inxi: 3.0.27 

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5667
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by all41 » Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:17 pm

Yes--should work for all directories (folders).
Other file-types can be assigned via the same method.

kylerickards
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:39 am

Re: Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by kylerickards » Fri Aug 23, 2019 12:36 pm

Hi

Just checked, right clicking an audio file with Open Parent Location is still opening Banshee, even when the properties say it should be opened with Caja?

User avatar
pbear
Level 8
Level 8
Posts: 2118
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by pbear » Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:03 pm

Another way to manage which app opens a file type is Preferred Applicaitons. Can be found in Menu and on Control Panel.

No idea about the volume problem.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
If your problem has been solved, please edit the thread title.

all41
Level 15
Level 15
Posts: 5667
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 9:12 am
Location: Computer, Car, Cage

Re: Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by all41 » Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:24 pm

right clicking an audio file with Open Parent Location is still opening Banshee
This is strange context using Mint MATE
Perhaps after a file search dialogue?

kylerickards
Level 3
Level 3
Posts: 179
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 9:39 am

Re: Missing Context Menu Item?

Post by kylerickards » Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:21 pm

pbear wrote:
Fri Aug 23, 2019 10:03 pm
Another way to manage which app opens a file type is Preferred Applicaitons. Can be found in Menu and on Control Panel.

No idea about the volume problem.
Thank, that was exactly it! I've not changed anything so god knows why it just did that!

No worries about the volume, it's an odd one

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”