Can't increase resolution past 640X480

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
Post Reply
User avatar
lagagnon
Level 7
Level 7
Posts: 1879
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 7:38 pm
Location: an island in the Pacific...

Re: Can't increase resolution past 640X480

Post by lagagnon »

Try booting into "recovery mode" drop into a root console and type "dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg" and see if that helps you out.

zole052
Level 2
Level 2
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2009 6:32 pm
Location: Umag, Croatia

Re: Can't increase resolution past 640X480

Post by zole052 »

I had the same problem. I changed my xorg.conf from

Code: Select all

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Monitor      "Configured Monitor"
   Device      "Configured Video Device"
   DefaultDepth   24
EndSection
to

Code: Select all

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Configured Monitor"
   HorizSync 30-81
   VertRefresh 60
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier   "Default Screen"
   Monitor      "Configured Monitor"
   Device      "Configured Video Device"
   DefaultDepth   24
   SubSection "Display"
   Depth 24
   Modes "1024x756_60"
EndSubSection
EndSection
for my 17' CRT monitor.

ho0ver
Level 1
Level 1
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 5:07 am

Re: Can't increase resolution past 640X480

Post by ho0ver »

Hi folks,

I was bitten by that bug in Gloria today, too. I installed an old pc (dell p4 340) for my mom to use (I just love mint, keep up the good work, guys!), and during installation at my home, I attached a 15" tft with 1024x768 native resolution (ati rage pro 128 agp graphics). Installation worked fine, resolution was ok.

I then took the box to my mom's place where she's using an older 17" CRT which does 1280x1024, and on the first boot with the new monitor attached, it booted up fine and came up with the correct resolution.

However when I rebooted the machine to test some stuff, her desktop came up in 800x600 which was the highest res I could choose from the control center applet.

A bit of googling helped us on the way and I added the correct res. and refresh rate in $HOME/.config/monitors.xml, and it seems to have worked. However I'm a bit irritated why this happened in the first place, as everything was fine on the first boot on the new monitor, things went pear-shaped only after the first reboot (and we hadn't played with the screen settings the first time as things looked fine then)

All the best & let me know if you need more info,

Uwe

igorzwx

Re: Can't increase resolution past 640X480

Post by igorzwx »

QUOTE: "I added the correct res. and refresh rate in $HOME/.config/monitors.xml"

This might be true.
The same is here:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=32673

look here too:
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=90&t=33031

Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”