[SOLVED] Problems with USB installation

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
afora
Level 2
Level 2

[SOLVED] Problems with USB installation

Post by afora » Mon Aug 26, 2019 7:44 pm

Hi guys, I have just started with Linux Mint and I'm loving it. However, as a newbie I have a problem and I really need some help.

I have a USB installation of Mint 19.2 which works fine as a dual boot on my machine (let's call it PC1).

However, when I try to boot it in a different machine (let's call it PC2), it allows me to select to boot from the USB drive but after that nothing happens, only a blinking underscore cursor on the left top side of the screen at the boot time.

I have another peculiar issue with the original PC1 - if I remove the USB stick from it, I cannot boot to Windows any longer. The system boots to a GNU GRUB screen and offers a grub> prompt. I have no idea how to boot to the Windows install without the USB stick.

Many thanks!
Last edited by afora on Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

pbear
Level 8
Level 8

Re: Problems with USB installation

Post by pbear » Mon Aug 26, 2019 11:18 pm

Alas, you have run into a bug in the Ubuntu/Mint installer. I've written a tutorial collecting methods for getting around the bug, so that's how to solve that part of the problem. As for Windows not booting without the USB attached, that's going to require boot repair and I've not yet found simple and clear instructions for how to do that. I'll look through my notes to see what I can find.
Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.
If your problem has been solved, please edit the thread title.