Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

All Gurus once were Newbies
Forum rules
There are no such things as "stupid" questions. However if you think your question is a bit stupid, then this is the right place for you to post it. Please stick to easy to-the-point questions that you feel people can answer fast. For long and complicated questions prefer the other forums within the support section.
Before you post please read how to get help
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

If i click on my bookmarks the icons get a red circle with strip in it, as if the link is broken, but they are not! They work fine.
Why is that? Or how can i fix that?
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-01 06-41-37.png
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-01 06-41-37.png (32.98 KiB) Viewed 699 times
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-01 06-42-06.png
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-01 06-42-06.png (22.8 KiB) Viewed 699 times
Last edited by RemonK on Sun Sep 01, 2019 9:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and his 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

I use the Mint-X-Sand icon set if that has something to do with it...?
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
pbear
Level 14
Level 14
Posts: 5206
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:25 pm
Location: San Francisco

Re: Nemo and his 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by pbear »

Stab in the dark ... Assuming this is Mint 19.x, try the Mint-Y-Sand theme, icon, etc. I used X in 18.x but find Y works better in 19.x.
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and his 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

The same thing occur but with other type of icons.. strange because the bookmarks work fine! :?
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 03-17-23.png
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 03-17-23.png (13.58 KiB) Viewed 621 times
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

It happens with all the icon sets! So i think the problem is not the icon sets, but something with nemo (piece of sh!t) file manager! :( At least once an hour it hangs, switching 3 times an icon set and it hangs, or do a bunch of thing to fast and it hangs, open more then 4 it hangs! :roll:
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 03-23-42.png
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 03-23-42.png (11.01 KiB) Viewed 614 times
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 03-22-34.png
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 03-22-34.png (10.36 KiB) Viewed 614 times


That is something mint (Linux) is lacking, a good working stable file manager!! Tried dolphin, but that does not theme right and lacks some functions, tried Polo, but that did not save some settings, so it always started full screen and still has bugs throughout the software, Tried SpaceFM, but that has a problem with mounting my phones sdcard. Because Huawei has an extra CD-ROM mount that host the windows drivers and HiSuite and when i plug in my USB it mounts first the CD-ROM on SR1 and then it tries to mount the sdcard, but gives me an error that CD-ROM is already in use!? I like SpaceFM because of the ability to customize about everything, but that little annoying bug i cant get rid of! So i have to use another file manager besides it...
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 999
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by zcot »

So, these volumes are already mounted?

Is it an icon problem or a mounting problem with each volume there?
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

They all work fine, just when i click on them i get a red X or red circle with line through it.. as if they are not mounted anymore or not exist.
But they all work fine! If i close nemo and wait ten minutes they have the normal icons until i click on them..
The only one that does not work at the moment is the C_Win7_VM link because the VM is not running, but when i start the VM and click on that link i'm on the C drive of the VM, so that one works also. But that is also the only one that gets a normal icon if i click on it!
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 04-22-27.png
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 04-22-27.png (10.8 KiB) Viewed 595 times
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

Oh and if i rename a folder, press enter and immediately want to change it again... nemo hangs!! :x
And now i can't rename anything because nemo won't let me use my keyboard if i press F2... i can only ESC.
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 999
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by zcot »

Weird.

Let us see the system info. I guess that's Cinnamon? share info: inxi -Fxxxprz

Are the other volumes auto mounted? or being mounted as the first time you click the icon with Nemo?
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

Ok, inxi says:

Code: Select all

:~$ inxi -Fxxxprz
System:    Host: P3300LX Kernel: 4.15.0-58-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 7.4.0 Desktop: Cinnamon 4.2.3 
           wm: muffin 4.2.2 dm: LightDM 1.26.0 Distro: Linux Mint 19.2 Tina base: Ubuntu 18.04 bionic 
Machine:   Type: Desktop System: ASUS product: All Series v: N/A serial: <filter> 
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: Z87-PRO v: Rev 1.xx serial: <filter> UEFI: American Megatrends v: 1504 
           date: 10/03/2013 
CPU:       Topology: Quad Core model: Intel Core i5-4670K bits: 64 type: MCP arch: Haswell rev: 3 L2 cache: 6144 KiB 
           flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 27199 
           Speed: 2159 MHz min/max: 800/4300 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 1290 2: 1308 3: 1341 4: 1297 
Graphics:  Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics vendor: ASUSTeK driver: i915 
           v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0 chip ID: 8086:0412 
           Device-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Juniper XT [Radeon HD 5770] vendor: Micro-Star MSI 
           driver: radeon v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.0 chip ID: 1002:68b8 
           Display: x11 server: X.Org 1.19.6 driver: ati,modesetting,radeon unloaded: fbdev,vesa 
           resolution: 1920x1080~60Hz, 1366x768~60Hz 
           OpenGL: renderer: AMD JUNIPER (DRM 2.50.0 / 4.15.0-58-generic LLVM 8.0.0) v: 3.3 Mesa 19.0.8 compat-v: 3.1 
           direct render: Yes 
Audio:     Device-1: Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor HD Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel 
           v: kernel bus ID: 00:03.0 chip ID: 8086:0c0c 
           Device-2: Intel 8 Series/C220 Series High Definition Audio vendor: ASUSTeK driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel 
           bus ID: 00:1b.0 chip ID: 8086:8c20 
           Device-3: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series] 
           vendor: Micro-Star MSI driver: snd_hda_intel v: kernel bus ID: 01:00.1 chip ID: 1002:aa58 
           Sound Server: ALSA v: k4.15.0-58-generic 
Network:   Device-1: Intel Ethernet I217-V vendor: ASUSTeK driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f080 bus ID: 00:19.0 
           chip ID: 8086:153b 
           IF: eno1 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter> 
           Device-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9462 Wireless Network Adapter vendor: ASUSTeK driver: ath9k v: kernel 
           port: e000 bus ID: 03:00.0 chip ID: 168c:0034 
           IF: wlp3s0 state: down mac: <filter> 
Drives:    Local Storage: total: 3.21 TiB used: 1.32 TiB (41.0%) 
           ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Samsung model: SSD 840 EVO 250GB size: 232.89 GiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> 
           rev: BB6Q scheme: MBR 
           ID-2: /dev/sdb vendor: Toshiba model: HDWD130 size: 2.73 TiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s rotation: 7200 rpm 
           serial: <filter> rev: ACF0 scheme: MBR 
           ID-3: /dev/sdc vendor: Maxtor model: 6L160M0 size: 149.05 GiB speed: 1.5 Gb/s serial: <filter> rev: 1G10 
           scheme: MBR 
           ID-4: /dev/sdd vendor: Intenso model: SSD size: 111.79 GiB speed: 6.0 Gb/s serial: <filter> rev: 7A0 
           scheme: GPT 
Partition: ID-1: / size: 37.62 GiB used: 17.76 GiB (47.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdd3 
           ID-2: /boot/efi size: 196.9 MiB used: 6.1 MiB (3.1%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/sdd1 
           ID-3: /home size: 71.59 GiB used: 10.84 GiB (15.1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdd4 
           ID-4: /media/admin/Backup size: 975.00 GiB used: 529.02 GiB (54.3%) fs: ntfs dev: /dev/sdb1 
           ID-5: /media/admin/Download size: 839.79 GiB used: 271.25 GiB (32.3%) fs: ntfs dev: /dev/sdb4 
           ID-6: /media/admin/Games size: 489.86 GiB used: 164.71 GiB (33.6%) fs: ntfs dev: /dev/sdb3 
           ID-7: /media/admin/Multimedia size: 489.86 GiB used: 180.60 GiB (36.9%) fs: ntfs dev: /dev/sdb2 
           ID-8: /media/admin/Win7_64 size: 232.89 GiB used: 174.16 GiB (74.8%) fs: ntfs dev: /dev/sda1 
           ID-9: /media/root/BackupLinux raw size: 149.05 GiB size: <root required> used: <root required> fs: ext4 
           dev: /dev/sdc1 
           ID-10: /mnt/Samba/NAS_Volume1 size: 2.69 TiB used: 1.07 TiB (39.9%) fs: cifs 
           remote: //192.168.1.200/Volume1 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 42.5 C mobo: 36.0 C gpu: radeon temp: 51 C 
           Fan Speeds (RPM): cpu: 771 fan-1: 620 fan-3: 0 fan-4: 834 fan-5: 603 fan-6: 0 
           Voltages: 12v: N/A 5v: N/A 3.3v: 3.33 vbat: 3.33 
Repos:     No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/danielrichter2007-grub-customizer-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielrichter2007/grub-customizer/ubuntu bionic main
           2: deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/danielrichter2007/grub-customizer/ubuntu bionic main
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/gambas-team-gambas3-bionic.list 
           No active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/iconnor-zoneminder-1_32-bionic.list 
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mark-pcnetspec-gksu-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/mark-pcnetspec/gksu/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/noobslab-themes-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/noobslab/themes/ubuntu bionic main
           2: deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/noobslab/themes/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
           1: deb https://mirror.koddos.net/linuxmint/packages tina main upstream import backport
           2: deb http://mirror.hostnet.nl/ubuntu/archive bionic main restricted universe multiverse
           3: deb http://mirror.hostnet.nl/ubuntu/archive bionic-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           4: deb http://mirror.hostnet.nl/ubuntu/archive bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-security main restricted universe multiverse
           6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ bionic partner
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/team-xbmc-ppa-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/team-xbmc/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           2: deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/team-xbmc/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teamviewer.list 
           1: deb http://linux.teamviewer.com/deb stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teejee2008-ppa-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/teejee2008/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           2: deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/teejee2008/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/webupd8team-indicator-kdeconnect-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/webupd8team/indicator-kdeconnect/ubuntu bionic main
Info:      Processes: 323 Uptime: 2d 1h 01m Memory: 15.54 GiB used: 8.57 GiB (55.2%) Init: systemd v: 237 runlevel: 5 
           Compilers: gcc: 7.4.0 alt: 7 Shell: bash v: 4.4.20 running in: guake inxi: 3.0.32 
All devices are already mounted before i login (fstab) also the share to root on my NAS is via SSH mounted in fstab.
The network shares are mounted via Samba, NAS_Volume1 and C_Win7_64_VM etc..
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

Btw, the SSH share to root on my nas is the only one i have to click first before it really mounts! It is only shown, not mounted yet.
I need root acces to do that. All the rest is mounted and ready to use!
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-02 05-55-08.png
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 999
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by zcot »

ooooh. Hmmm, that's a good one.

Might as well post up the fstab.

Also, you could run a test with a new temporary user since that's quick easy and painless. that's a stab in the dark but just not knowing how deep the 3rd party repo's go. I think at least one installs about 100 alternate gnome packages so it's curious to whether it might be involved.

And mentioning 1001 flaws, I would have to think Clem and the team aren't going to stick up software under that condition so makes me wonder if there's a gremlin in the mix. ;)

I don't have an ntfs system so I'm not sure I can test that directly but there's 0 bugs mentioned on github about this topic.

Maybe I'll go digging around and try to implement the same condition.

Hopefully someone know's exactly what's up and can get you out of it.
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

zcot wrote:
Mon Sep 02, 2019 3:09 pm
Might as well post up the fstab.
I forgot to mention that i fixed the NAS_Root SSH share. Before i had to mount via root after login, but fixed that problem (commented out SSH line).
The new SSH line mounts the share at boot with root permission.

fstab:

Code: Select all

# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
#
UUID=c9c0a899-526d-4e9a-bfaf-b889b88045a1		/		ext4	errors=remount-ro	0	1
UUID=0BAB-160E						/boot/efi	vfat		umask=0077	0	1
UUID=ecfcac14-40dc-45e4-a27b-79be083d1bf5		/home	ext4	defaults			0	2
# SWAP Removed
#
# Mount other drives
UUID=01CFF5309165B1B0    /media/admin/Win7_64      ntfs defaults,rw  0  0
UUID=2D04485B14803637    /media/admin/Backup       ntfs defaults,rw  0  0
UUID=49CB3AAA7F6011FB    /media/admin/Multimedia   ntfs defaults,rw  0  0
UUID=2EB1FFF4073EC0AC    /media/admin/Games        ntfs defaults,rw  0  0
UUID=65B7BF921A42ED93    /media/admin/Download     ntfs defaults,rw  0  0
#
# Mount Huawei P9 share (not working yet, needs key)
# sshfs#admin@192.168.1.14:/  /media/admin/Huawei_P9 fuse  auto,defaults,allow_other,_netdev,ssh_command=sshpass\040-f\040/root/.ssh/host.password\040ssh  0  0
#
# Mount NAS Root share with SSH (can only mount with root after login)
# admin@192.168.1.200:/ /media/admin/NAS_Root fuse.sshfs noauto,x-systemd.automount,_netdev,users,idmap=user,IdentityFile=/home/admin/.ssh/id_rsa,allow_other,reconnect 0 0
#
sshfs#admin@192.168.1.200:/  /media/admin/NAS_Root   fuse   auto,defaults,allow_other,_netdev,ssh_command=sshpass\040-f\040/root/.ssh/host.password\040ssh  0  0
zcot wrote: Also, you could run a test with a new temporary user since that's quick easy and painless. that's a stab in the dark but just not knowing how deep the 3rd party repo's go. I think at least one installs about 100 alternate gnome packages so it's curious to whether it might be involved.
I can indeed try my backup account if that has the same problems. It is pretty virgin of abuse, just used that a few times. If that has the same i can try a new account. Wil let you know about that!
About the PPA's, the most are disabled but not yet removed. I just did and here are the ones that are left.
TeamViewer (remote access), KDE Connect (for my phone), gksudo (the bad idea to give gui root permission ;)), XMBC (Kodi), TeeJee (conky scripts and dev of the Polo file manager).

Code: Select all

:~$ inxi -r
Repos:     Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/mark-pcnetspec-gksu-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/mark-pcnetspec/gksu/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/official-package-repositories.list 
           1: deb https://mirror.koddos.net/linuxmint/packages tina main upstream import backport
           2: deb http://mirror.hostnet.nl/ubuntu/archive bionic main restricted universe multiverse
           3: deb http://mirror.hostnet.nl/ubuntu/archive bionic-updates main restricted universe multiverse
           4: deb http://mirror.hostnet.nl/ubuntu/archive bionic-backports main restricted universe multiverse
           5: deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-security main restricted universe multiverse
           6: deb http://archive.canonical.com/ubuntu/ bionic partner
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/team-xbmc-ppa-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/team-xbmc/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teamviewer.list 
           1: deb http://linux.teamviewer.com/deb stable main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/teejee2008-ppa-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/teejee2008/ppa/ubuntu bionic main
           Active apt repos in: /etc/apt/sources.list.d/webupd8team-indicator-kdeconnect-bionic.list 
           1: deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/webupd8team/indicator-kdeconnect/ubuntu bionic main
]
zcot wrote: And mentioning 1001 flaws, I would have to think Clem and the team aren't going to stick up software under that condition so makes me wonder if there's a gremlin in the mix. ;)
Probably, but it has to be an old gremlin then.. i have troubles with nemo from day one.. i find it very unstable! Or maybe there is a connection with the crash in my first Linux week?? I don't know. But it never felt as a good, smooth or stable file manger to me. After fresh boot it runs fine, but when my system is up for a day or more then slowly the hangups and crashes begin. I tried lots of others and they all have their cons and pro's but not one of them gives me the satisfaction of a good fm. The last one i tried was polo and that one i think is on the right path, but at the moment has to many bugs yet. The most annoying one is not saving if it exits fullscreen or not. And always starts fullscreen!
I keep coming back to SpaceFM, i like this one a lot and has a load of options to customize about anything! Just the weird problem that it can not coop with my Huawei phone's extra cdrom mount. If i pop usb in i get an error that 'My CDROM' already exist. And on top of that it can't mount the sdcard. Only an open tab pops up with an MTP link. But when you accidentally close that tab, you have to re-stick the usb kabel or else there is no way to go to your sdcard... :(
That's why i installed KDE Connect. I can share files, folders and clipboard, browse, remote mouse and keyboard, answer whatsapp msg on the pc, send SMS, check battery status, let my phone ring if i can't find it and other stuff! All over wifi, very nice tool! :)

zcot wrote: I don't have an ntfs system so I'm not sure I can test that directly but there's 0 bugs mentioned on github about this topic.
Maybe I'll go digging around and try to implement the same condition.
Hopefully someone know's exactly what's up and can get you out of it.
I don't think it has anything to do with ntfs specific, because the NAS-Volume1 mount is exFat (i think, at least not ntfs). The icon problem seems to have its beginning around the time i tested a lot of other file managers... i guess? Never noticed it before..
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 999
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by zcot »

I'm not good with nfts mounts, but pretty sure those mount lines aren't sufficient. I've help search out some some solutions on IRC many times, but like I said I'm not using it so don't know the in's and out's really and finding the exact analytical details as if I used it for myself.

But there's some umask and a couple options that seem common in the solutions that are out there.

Obviously, first, you have created an actual directory such as /media/admin/Win7_64 ?

Also, btw, is the user in this case privy to that admin directory? Is there a permission issue going on? Can the current booted user get into that admin directory with current user permission?

Anyway, I'm just hitting the basic ideas. But you end up seeing something like this example as a typical solution:

Code: Select all

UUID=DA9056C19056A3B3 /media/WinD ntfs defaults,nls=utf8,umask=000,uid=1000,windows_names 0 0
Some of the detail is glossed over, here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Fstab
and: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Autom ... Partitions

There's SO many solutions mentioned in forums and articles and it doesn't seem like there's a very common mutual solution, which is a shame, but they typically include at least one of the mask parameters, and probably uid.

I have a feeling there's just some little detail hanging this thing up for you, but I'm not savy enough to see right what it is unfortunately. :?
JosephM
Level 6
Level 6
Posts: 1169
Joined: Sun May 26, 2013 6:25 pm

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by JosephM »

That "circle with a red line through it" thing you keep mentioning is just the icon you get when it can't find the icon that it wants. It should have no effect in actual use and likely nothing to do with the mounts themselves. Though in years of using Nemo I've never seen such a thing so could be wrong. Out of curiosity, try switching back to the default Mint themes and restarting and see if it makes any difference. Unless you tried that and I just missed it. That means, icons, controls, etc. Not just icon theme.
When I give opinions, they are my own. Not necessarily those of any other Linux Mint developer or the Linux Mint project as a whole.
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

No permission issues going on. I can access the bookmarks without problem, they work fine. The folders are created in /media/admin/.
They have worked from the beginning, that's not the problem.. it is just like JosephM said, nemo can't seem to find the icons after a click on it.
I turned back to Mint-Y and booted, but the same..
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-03 11-52-00.png
Schermafdruk van 2019-09-03 11-52-00.png (44.72 KiB) Viewed 424 times
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

The problems of my Mint install is getting worser every day now... since this morning i have another problem to add to the list! :?

This morning i was doing some stuff in the terminal when i noticed a new error when givin a wrong command.. sources.list not found!
Did some googling.. not very clear if i need it, why it went gone and found not a real solution. Someone offered as solution to make a new empty file and call that sources.list. So i did and the error was gone.
So, to try zcot's idea to check if other accounts had the same icon problems, i logged out and tried my backup account. I used that maybe 4 times and it is very clean and not customized! But i could not login to the desktop. I got the same kind of error that all shell-packages are gone and that had to do with my installation and has to do with distribution. Whut?! :roll:
So i thought, maybe the empty sources.list wasn't that good of a solution and delete it was better. Deleted the empty sources.list and rebooted. Tried again, but same error and again black screen only mouse pointer.

And now i have no idea why i am suddenly missing my sources.list and what to do? Can i pull an old sources.list out of a timeshift backup??
I think this problem began when i deleted old PPA's from the list.. before that i never noticed any error in the terminal?
IMG_20190903_163956.herschaald.jpg
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
User avatar
zcot
Level 5
Level 5
Posts: 999
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 6:08 pm

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by zcot »

The default Mint installation has an empty sources.list so you can simply create an empty file there: sudo touch /etc/apt/sources.list

(It actually does include a source list from the installation "cdrom" but it is commented out by default, so effectively an empty file.)
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

There was a file named sourcelist.save in the apt folder, i guess a backup file.. so i copied that one and rename it to sources.list. But no luck with login to my backup account. I don't get it? Same message.. all shell-packages are gone!
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
RemonK
Level 4
Level 4
Posts: 295
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2019 6:32 pm
Location: Land van Umme
Contact:

Re: Nemo and its 1001 flaws! :( Bookmark icons change on click

Post by RemonK »

I googled for different solutions, tried some things, but still the same error at login at my backup account. It seems i can't reproduce a new sources.list at any way i know of. An empty or no sources.list is not accepted. But only with my backup account. My normal account has no problems login in. Only an error at the terminal if i enter a wrong command (no sources.list), but that's it. If i create an empty sources.list that error disappear.
I really have no idea what to do now? Delete account and make a new one? That is my last solution if everything else fails.
Het leven is net een kartbaan; Sensatie, adrenaline en veel te snel voorbij!
Joeptjoep - Feestboek
Post Reply

Return to “Newbie Questions”